Monetization Guide for Beginners in 2021

Monetization Guide for Beginners in 2021

Whether you have a new website, an e-commerce site, or a new app, you want to make money from it. Surely you heard the word monetization when it comes to earning a profit from your digital properties.

If you get confused with all the monetization options, don’t worry, we at CodeFuel prepared this guide with all you need to know to get started.

Monetization Basics

What Does Monetization Mean?

If you are in the digital marketing industry, chances are that you heard the word monetization. Monetization refers to the process of making money from your website or other digital property. It doesn’t necessarily refer to selling your product or service but earning revenue from your website in other ways. 

Actually, your website or app can be the perfect place for marketing products, and there are myriad strategies for doing it. You can monetize your application, your software, or your browser extension. 

How Does it Work to Monetize a Website?

If you are a publisher or a non-e-commerce site, you may wonder how to make money from their websites. Your digital property is valuable, and there are many strategies to monetize it.

#1. Affiliate advertising

Affiliate marketing means you get paid for every referral you make to another company. When you add affiliate links to your website, you’ll receive a commission from each person that clicks your affiliate link. The link can open a product page or an offer where the user can buy a product. 

Affiliate advertising do’s and don’ts

  • Do make clear on your website that you are using affiliate links and with whom. 
  • Do recommend products and services that are relevant to your audience. 
  • Don’t overpromote, cluttering your website with all kinds of affiliate links. 

#2. PPC 

This is one of the most common ways to monetize a website. Simply explained, it means you partner with an advertising network that displays relevant ads on your website and banner and get paid every time a viewer clicks on them. Ad networks pay publishers a rate per click, called Click-Through-Rate. 

One of the most popular ad networks is Google Adsense. Want to know how to make money with Google Adsense? Check out our How To Make Money With Google AdSense article. 

AdSense isn’t the only advertising network you can choose, in fact, we compiled a list of the best ad networks for publishers in 2021. 

PPC do’s and don’ts

  • Do choose an ad network that caters to your audience
  • Do choose an ad network that meets your percentage needs. 
  • Don’t start with PPC if you don’t have enough traffic. Every network has different requirements, and it can take a while to build enough traffic to get a nice income from PPC. 
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You can sell ad space on our website as another way to improve your income. This can allow you to arrange the prices directly with the advertisers, getting the entire pay instead of a percentage. Of course, this also requires promoting your ad space and negotiating with advertisers. You can sell space for different types of ads, video, interactive, rich media, and banners. 

Pop-up ads are another way you can make a profit from advertising. Although pop-ups can seem annoying, the fact is that they are effective. Pop-ups can get an advertiser’s message right in front of visitors and that’s why the engagement and click rates are usually high.   

Advertising do’s and don’ts

  • Do use this model if you have high conversion rates. For example, if you have a solid community of followers or recurring customers. 
  • Don’t use CPM if you don’t have very high traffic numbers. While you can earn $5 per click, you will get the same but per a thousand impressions. 
  • Don’t implement too many pop-ups or you risk annoying your visitors.

#4 Sponsored Posts

Sponsored guest posts can bring you a steady source of revenue. How does it work? You collaborate with a business to create or publish promotional material. It can be a review, a sponsored post, or a feature. 

codefuel monetize

You can publish the content on your website or create the content yourself. If you create the content for the brand, you can ask for a higher rate than just publishing. 

Sponsored Posts do’s and don’ts

  • Do invest in your website strategy. The more popular your site or blog is, the more you can charge for your sponsored posts. 
  • Don’t be sneaky. Identify sponsored content as such. If you charge to promote content, tell your viewers. Avoiding disclosing sponsored content can eliminate the trust they have in you. 

#5. Search monetization

Adding a search box to your website can give an extra source of revenue. Every time a viewer uses your search page is served relevant ads according to their search keywords. When you use a monetized search box, you earn a commission every time the person conducts a search. 

Search monetization do’s and don’ts

  • Do customize the search feed for your site. The feed will look like part of the page.
  • Do use search monetization if your site gets a lot of traffic. 

How Does it Work to Monetize an App?

codefuel monetize

If you developed a great new app, chances are you want to make money from it. So here is where monetization comes to help. App monetization is the process of generating revenue from your app. 

Since every app is different, some monetization models can work for one app and not for another. How do you know which monetization model can work for you? Are you going to charge for your app? If not, how can you generate revenue from it? 

The key is to plan the monetization from the start of the development process. Thus you can ensure your app generates a growing income, and you keep the user experience great. 

App monetization strategies vary, you can focus on one or combine several.  For instance, you can add in-app ads and also allow for in-app purchases. More on app monetization methods below. 

Monetization Channels

There are three monetization channels you cannot miss for your app or website: 

Mobile

It seems that every day we spend more and more time on our phones. Americans spend an average of 5.4 hours on their mobiles daily. With such numbers, is not a surprise that Google implemented a mobile-first algorithm that penalizes sites that are not mobile-friendly. Ensuring your site is mobile-friendly helps you reach your users where they are most: their phones. That’s even more true with app monetization.  

Social

When you try to monetize your app or site, don’t forget about social media. Facebook and Instagram allow now e-commerce features, seamlessly connecting your social media page to your site. You can use their video platforms, shoppable posts, and other features to increase your income. 

Video

Video and social go hand in hand now and you can add video channels to your monetization strategy. YouTube, specifically, has a channel monetization program you can join. The opportunities of monetizing YouTube are huge. According to a Google survey, 70% of shoppers would learn about products and brands on YouTube. And despite the crunch of 2020, YouTube ad revenues are expected to grow to $6.87 billion in 2022, from $4.04 billion in 2020.

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Top 10 strategies to monetize and engage users on websites

1. Make sure your website is responsive

Mobile has overtaken desktop in most areas now, including media consumption and search. Make sure your site is responsive so you not only can reach your audience but also rank higher on SERPs. 

2. Include images and media

Images are a staple of digital content, catch the attention of the viewer and give context to the content. This increases blog posts and social media impressions. Videos make the info easier to consume, are increasingly becoming the top channel for content, so make sure you include videos in your strategy. 

3. Add visual data

Infographics, charts, and other visuals tell a story with data. They present the information in a format that is easy to understand. That makes them very popular with users. In fact, 65% of marketers use infographics in their marketing. So ensure you add infographics and charts to your content. 

4. Interact with viewers

Your viewers are potential customers, so give them a way to contact you and interact with them. 

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a. Allow comments and comment back

Make sure your website or app allows users to comment. Engage your users in conversation by answering back. This will help you create a community of users. 

b. Integrate social 

When you integrate your social media to your site, you expand the reach of your marketing efforts.  Be sure to have a strategy that includes social media channels. 

5. Write good quality content

 

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Quality content is still the main criteria to getting a good rank for your site, get your viewers engaged, and more conversions. 

Here are some tips to make your content more engaging:

a. Skimmable

Studies show that most people don’t read, but skim the content looking for what they want. Use bullets, numbered lists, lots of subheadings, and bolded words. Short paragraphs and white space also help. 

b. Tell a story

People remember stories more than they remember content. Stories work with emotions, convey information, and make content more memorable than cold data. 

c. Be concise

Convoluted blurbs are for academic papers. Get straight to the point with your writing. 

d. Be relevant

Users want to find what they are searching for. Check that all the elements on your website are relevant to your audience. This includes the ads, and sponsored content. Don’t use fluff to fill up spaces or information that your audience won’t care about. 

e. Create long-form content

While you need to be concise, this doesn’t mean your website content needs to be the size of tweets. Actually, long-form content (over 1,500 words) has proven to drive more engagement. Long-form articles keep users longer on the site, which results in a higher ranking. 

f. Evergreen content 

“Evergreen” content refers to the type of content that stays relevant to users over a long period of time. Also called pillar content, this type of SEO content can rank up your authority with search engines. 

6. CX, CX, CX (customer experience)

a. Few choices are better than many

When users have too many choices they get overwhelmed and can leave your site. In fact, research shows that too many choices lower conversion rates. Make sure your site has a clean customer journey that helps the user achieve their goal. 

b. Clear and easy design

Your website design needs to accompany and help the users, not confuse them. A well-designed website helps engagement and conversion rates. 

c. Usability before sales

A key of user experience is the usability of the site. The interface should be easy to navigate and the site should focus on value and the user experience. 

d. Make sure your site loads quickly

Slow loading sites are one of the main causes of bounce rate. Make sure your site loads in under 3 seconds to ensure your site engages your viewers. 

7. Use a one-stop monetization solution

An all-in-one monetization solution can make your life simpler. The right monetization platform not only can increase your income but your reach. 

8. Create a user engagement strategy

You can engage users more effectively when you have a clear strategy, with goals, milestones, and metrics. Plan your strategy beforehand and follow with analytics to stay on track. 

9. Bring social proof

Social proof, such as testimonials, brings credibility to your site. The more you have and the more details you have, the more people will trust you. 

10. Use an omnichannel marketing funnel 

Spread your marketing across channels, pulling users down a funnel from social media, paid ads, and other marketing efforts. Keep in mind of not going too broad, better focus on the channels your users actually are on. 

 

Techniques to Monetize Without Investing

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1. Social content locker

This technique allows you to monetize through a PPD (Pay per Download) network. When you sign up to the network, when your users want to download the app or file, they are asked to complete an offer, like a quiz or survey. Each time they do, you get paid. 

How do you find relevant offers? Use a related social media account, and create a community by adding useful and relevant content. Once you do, start posting your PPD links. Every download will earn you revenue. 

2. Pay per blogging

You can use a free blogging hosting service such as WordPress or Blogger, to create a blog around your downloadable content. To attract people to your blog, of course, you’ll need to add informative and entertaining posts that relate to your offer. 

This will create the platform where you can add PPD links to your content, preferably inside an article with related content. You can use your social media and video channels to promote your blog and attract people to download your offer. 

3. Pay per Youtube

If you have a piece of content that is valuable for your audience, you can use YouTube to promote it through a PPD network. You’ll need to create a YouTube account around your niche. When you upload your content to the PPD network, you’ll get a locked URL. 

How do you use YouTube to promote the content? Simple, just create a video with the PPD link in the video description. Once your viewers download the content, you’ll get paid. 

4. Promotional strategies

You can use outsourcing websites like Fiverr or Upwork to have the work done with a few dollars by using freelancers. 

  • Find social media marketers that will tweet your product to their followers. 
  • Bloggers can post reviews of your product. 
  • Video producers can create video presentations. 

Is not that hard to promote your content, but remember to focus on your niche to avoid being spammy. 

Ethical monetization 101

Monetization sometimes gets a bad reputation, and it is true that there are certain techniques that are shady. Unethical monetization leads to angry customers and potential loss of business. 

Why ethical monetization?

  • You can build a solid reputation: unethical marketers sooner or later get a bad reputation. Unlike them, when you engage in ethical monetization practices you have the peace of mind that comes from responsible behavior. You can network with confidence and build your good name.  
  • You can compete with real businesses:  ethical marketers can compete with other real businesses and grow in a serious market. You will earn a competitive advantage on your own merit. 
  • It results in happy customers: unethical practices ultimately hurt your customers. Therefore, sticking to ethical monetization programs will result in earning your customers’ trust. 

Playing well pays off in the long term. So, let’s review some ethical monetization programs you can use: 

Monetization programs overview

Affiliate programs

These are commission-based revenue systems. They work by matching merchants who offer products and services and affiliates who sell those products and services. 

Some companies run their own affiliate programs, but many are run by independent agencies, called affiliate networks. They mediate the relationship between merchants and affiliates, develop the program’s rules and the software that all parties use to communicate. 

Affiliate programs can be very effective as monetization options since the commissions are usually based on the sale price of the items in question. The higher the price of the product, the higher the commission. 

You can make money in an affiliate program as a merchant or as an affiliate. If you have a product to offer, other affiliates can help you market your product, and you pay a commission for each sale. If you want to sell other people’s products, you earn a commission-based revenue. You can also do both. 

Advertising programs

Advertising is still one of the most common ways to monetize websites, software, apps, digital content. All social networks have their own advertising program, from Facebook to Twitter, Instagram, as well as Google and Microsoft. 

Advertising networks can offer cross-platform solutions and advertise in a variety of places. You can integrate ads into apps, installers, or serve search ads. Advertising networks benefit both advertisers and publishers. Advertisers get the best digital properties for their ads, and publishers get the best bid for their digital space. 

Learn more about advertising networks in our guide to the Top Advertising Networks of 2021. 

Pay per download

PPD (Pay-per-download) programs generate revenue each time a file, app or piece of content is downloaded. They work in two primary payment methods: 

Content locking:  this method “locks” the content behind a link, and the end-user must perform an action ( fill a survey, answer a poll, fill a form) to unlock that content. Once it is done, the third-party advertisers will send you the payment. 

Paid downloads: this method requires the user to pay to download the content or software and you get paid for each download. 

Pay per download can generate a decent revenue when you offer something that has enough value for the user. Content that has a lower value such as pictures, printables, wallpapers are better suited to a content-locking program. 

Pay per install 

Smart installers and ad-powered installation modules combine software distribution and advertising programs. These programs allow you to integrate ads into a desktop installer. When a user acts on that advertisement, you get paid. 

This monetization program helps developers, publishers, and advertisers. You can promote your own product through the installer, and if you have the software, you can add the installer to generate more revenue. 

Hybrid options

These are the combination of two or more monetization methods. You can combine affiliate links with display advertising, for example. 

App monetization methods

Premium 

Freemium and subscription-based apps are very popular these days. You can give your users a free trial for a period where they can try all premium features. This gives you the chance to educate your users and probably encourage conversions. You can also give a free version with basic features and then charge for premium features. 

Keep in mind to be clear with your users and disclose from the start that your app is freemium. 

Pay-to-Download

You can charge people for downloading the app. Just put a price on it (for example, $0.99) and hope that your marketing efforts will make tons of people buy it. However, most users expect apps to be free these days. So, if there is a similar free app, they’ll probably download it. That doesn’t mean you cannot charge for your app. Just make sure you bring enough value to the user so it is worth it. 

In-app advertising 

Most free apps feature in-app advertising that promotes everything, from deals to other apps, offers, and discounts. The advantage is that many users don’t mind the advertisements in order to get free apps. However, in-app advertising returns are often low. 

Bundling

 For many developers, this is the easiest monetization model. Bundle your software with third parties which have their own monetization platform. These third parties present offers to your users when your app is installed. When a user accepts the offer, you get paid. So you can earn money without the monetization legwork. 

In-app purchases

This is a method of app monetization that can generate more conversions and loyalty from users. For example, for gaming apps. Game developers engage the user first and then give the option to pay to access new packages and features. 

Learn more about app monetization in our  How to monetize mobile apps  guide 

Top 5 Monetization Platforms

Now that you know about monetization, which monetization platform should you choose? Don’t worry, we explored and ranked the top 5 for you: 

1. CodeFuel

Techniques to Monetize

This complete monetization platform lets you leverage search, ads, shopping, and news to monetize any digital property. 

Features

  • App monetization
  • Search mediation
  • Website monetization
  • News feed
  • Tracking and analytics
  • Centralized dashboard
  • Multiple integrations

Pros

  • Flexible
  • All in one

Cons

  • Not suitable for very small publishers. 

2. AudiencePlay

audienceplay

This program focuses on monetizing data safely and securely. 

Features

  • Data segmentation
  • Data monetization 

Pros

Allows to monetize data and can be combined with other monetization methods. 

Cons

Is not a monetization program itself. 

3. AdSense

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Google AdSense is one of the most popular monetization platforms. When you sign for the Google AdSense program, Google will serve relevant ads for your audience. 

Features

  • Ad monetization
  • Analytics

Pros

  • Responsive
  • Large advertising network
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • High traffic requirements to enter. 

 

  • Exoclick

audienceplay

Is a website monetization program for publishers and advertisers. Provides automated monetization options and analytics. 

Features

  • Multiple monetization formats
  • Real-time statistics 
  • Adblocker
  • Campaign optimization

Pros

  • Good quality of traffic
  • Good payouts
  • Convenient

Cons

  • Poor support

5. Clickky 

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Clickky biz makes it easier for you to create ad placements for your website and select ad categories. You can choose the ad type and format for mobile and desktop. 

Features

  • Mobile monetization
  • Programmatic advertising
  • Multiple monetization formats.

Pros

  • Analytics
  • Real-time user tracking
  • Easy to use reports

Cons

  • Don’t have many integrations
  • Focus mainly on analytics

 

How Can CodeFuel Help you Monetize Your Digital Property?

 When you start considering monetization there are many avenues you can take. Should you focus on advertising? Affiliate marketing? You can use a combination of methods to achieve your monetization goals. 

CodeFuel can help you leverage multiple monetization methods through an intent-directed solution. You can leverage search, ads, and news with our all-in-one platform. Start monetizing today with Codefuel by contacting us. 

March Publisher Insights – Highs and Lows

March Publisher Insights – Highs and Lows

Two and a half months into 2021 and the network search data is already telling a story. How are people searching as we mark one year of COVID-19? Here is an example of some of the data we are sharing with our partners to help them better buy media for their business.

The Highs

These are the categories that showed a significant increase month over month:

  • The Home & Garden category exhibited a spike of 44%(!) in search volume.
  • Also on the rise is the Automotive category, with an increase of 28% in search volume.
  • While Travel is still underperforming for this time of the year, search volume has increased by 19% compared to the previous 30 days.
  • The Careers category has also shown an increase of 6% in search volume.

Why should I care?
Advertising in the above categories could net better results in the upcoming months, either thanks to the immense growth in search volume or the higher CTR (higher buying intent) we are seeing.

The Lows

  • The Technology and Computing category has decreased in search volume by -3.5%, but the Mobile Phones sub-category has gained a modest increase in search volume of 2.3% compared to the previous month.
  • The News category has dropped in search volume by -13%.
  • The Real Estate category has dropped by -6% in search volume.

Why should I care?
While the interest in Technology has generally dropped, mobile phones specifically increased in both volume and intent (CTR), which means that lower bids can get better results compared to the previous month.

If you also wish to leverage search trends information in real-time for your campaigns or learn more about how you can monetize your digital assets based on search trend insights, drop us a line here.

Page RPM: What is it, and How to Increase Your Page RPM?

Page RPM: What is it, and How to Increase Your Page RPM?

​Marketing and performance metrics tell you the number of visitors and the number of impressions, but how this translates into money? Knowing how much revenue your pages generate is critical for a publisher. The reality is that you may be looking at the wrong metric. While site traffic and other advertiser-side metrics are important, they don’t really measure if your business is growing or not. There enters Page RPM.

At CodeFuel, we are committed to increasing the revenue for publishers; therefore, we compiled this guide with an overview of Page RPM and tips to increase it.

Let’s start with the basics.

What Is Page RPM?

RPM is a metric that measures the total revenue generated by a site per every thousand page views. The acronym RPM stands for Revenue per Mille (thousand). Publishers use this metric to estimate how much revenue your site can generate. Knowing how much revenue your site generates per 1000 views helps you refine your site, optimize pages and other site features.

How to calculate page RPM

To calculate your page revenue per thousand views (RPM), you need to know two factors: your estimated earnings and the number of page views you received. Divide the earnings by the number of page views, then multiply by 1000.

Here’s the formula:

Page RPM: (Estimated earnings / Number of page views) * 1000

How do you apply the formula?

  • Example 1: Let’s say you have 2500 page views this month. You estimate the revenue from ads to be $250. Apply the formula: Page RPM: ($250 / 2500) *1000 =  $100
  • Example 2: You earned an estimated $0.20 from 25 page views. Your page RPM will be ($0.20 / 25) *1000, or $8

This metric can be helpful to compare the revenue for different channels and track page performance.

Still, how do you know if it is a good or bad RPM? 

What Is a Good Page RPM For a Website?

One of the most common questions in digital publishing forums is, “what is a good RPM for my site?”. Well, how good your page RPM is different for every company. It will depend on factors like your niche, the quality of your content and traffic, where your audience is located, or if you have seasonal peak demands.

Companies search and compare themselves to sites of the same type to arrive at a kind of benchmark. But a good RPM is always relative. Multiple factors can affect page RPM on a website.

The topic of the content you distribute, what information you give to potential readers help advertisers to define the value of your website. For instance, we researched the top 10 keyword categories in 2020 for advertisers according to Google AdWords:

As a general rule, the more valuable the content, the more valuable the audience your site attracts, it affects the RPM of your pages. Other factors that can affect you are your visitor’s location and the seasonality of your demand.

Which Metrics Can Affect Page RPM?

Besides those factors, two metrics can directly impact Page RPM: 

  • Click-through rate (CTR): this rate measures the number of clicks on a specific ad per thousand ad impressions. The higher your CTR, the higher your page revenue. Why? First, you’d get direct revenue from the clicks. Also, having a higher CTR means your site is a more valuable digital real estate, which means you can get a higher price per click.
  • Cost per click (CPC): this measures how much an advertiser would pay per click on an ad that is placed on your website.

When these two metrics increase, your page becomes more valuable, so your page RPM also increases.

Types of Revenue Metrics (with formulas and examples) 

Before we go into strategies to increase your page RPM, we’ll need to explain the differences between terms that are often confused:

Ads RPM vs. Page RPM

Ad RPM, unlike Page RPM, measures the revenue of an ad per thousand impressions. To calculate it, divide the estimated revenue per number of ad impressions, then multiply by 1000.

Ad RPM =  (estimated revenue / ad impressions) * 1000

The difference with Page RPM

Ad RPM is the cost that advertisers need to pay for every 1000 ad impressions on a given website. Page RPM gives publishers the rate they are paid for ad impressions on their web pages, helping them understand page performance.

CPM 

CPM refers to the cost per 1000 ad impressions for the advertiser. To calculate the CPM, you need to know the cost of the campaign and the number of total impressions. Then, you apply the following formula:

CPM = (cost of the campaign/ number of total impressions) * 1000

Let’s check an example: The advertiser has a $5000 ad budget. The CPM campaign got 10,000 impressions on the ad. Let’s calculate the CPM:

CPM = ($5000/10,000,000) *1000 =  $0.5

eCPM

eCPM is an ad performance metric. That means it measures the revenue that ads generate on their site. eCPM stands for Effective Cost per Mille. To calculate the eCPM, divide the ad revenue per banner or campaign by thousand ad impressions.

eCPM = ad revenue per banner / 1000 ad impressions

Publishers usually use this metric to calculate how profitable is a display ad. A difference from CPM, it doesn’t measure reach, but the effective revenue for every CPM campaign and CPC too.

Why Publishers Should Keep Track of Page RPM?

Page RPM is a key performance metric that allows you to estimate how much are you earning per thousand page views.

Publishers Should Keep Track of Page RPM
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Why is that important? When users browse through your site, not all pages catch the same level of attention. Page RPM helps you detect what are your low earning pages and improve performance. Since RPM is very variable, one day may be high, and the next day falls. That’s why it is critical to measure regularly and use the findings to improve your strategies. The tips in the next section can help to increase Page RPM.  

 4 Tips to Increase Page RPM

To improve Page RPM, there are three main areas you need to work on: your website, the ads you show on your site, and the audience visiting your site. With that in mind, let’s see some tips you can implement to increase your RPM:  

1. Improve your website traffic

    • Use contextual targeting for getting high-intent visitors: Getting high-intent targeted traffic is key to increasing the revenue on your pages. Having enough traffic is not enough to monetize the page. Visitors need to be interested. That’s why contextual targeting — that uses keywords on a website page to display ads—is becoming more important for publishers and advertisers. The ads remain contextually relevant to the users’ queries, attracting more high intent visitors.
    • Optimize loading speed for ads and website: nobody has the patience now to wait for a site to load. According to Google, if your site loads in more than 3 seconds, you risk a 40% bounce rate. Some tips that can reduce your page load speed are optimizing your images, leverage browser caching, and enable compression. Keep in mind you need to optimize your ads too, so they don’t delay your page loading. You can use Google Page Speed Insights tool to check the load speed of your site.

 

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2. Improve the quality and relevance of your content

  • Focus on the quality of your content: Good quality content not only attracts visitors, but increases the time users stay on your site. Strong content that your audience can go back to influences all the other metrics. 
  • Relevant suggestions increase engagement: use a content recommendation tool to give your visitors relevant content. This not only increases their time on page but also drives more page views. Tools like CodeFuel present relevant ads that answer the user queries on your page, helping improve page RPM.

3. Improve the ads you are showing

  • Use Ad Refresh – with this feature, you serve multiple ads on the same advertising place to the same user. After a certain time on the page, scroll down, or other activity, the ad is replaced with other different ads. This attracts the viewer’s attention and can increase the clickability of your ads. 
  • Optimize ad viewability – ensuring the ads get seen is critical to increasing revenue. More when, according to eMarketer, the viewability on a desktop is only 50%. That means half of the ads pass without being noticed by the user. Improve your ad layout and placement — for example, place ads between the content — so the users notice them.  
  • Optimize ads, formats, and sizes – play with different formats, combining text and images, video, rich media, and expandable ads. Naturally, some ad formats will be more expensive per click than others, therefore, increasing your page RPM. 
  • Make sure ads are relevant to your audience – set the right targeting for your audience. Show ads that relate to the keywords they are looking for, so they’re more likely to click on it. If your site caters to different audiences, you can set different targets for different sections or topics. 

4. Give a great user experience

The audience probably didn’t come to your site to suffer non-stop ads and notifications. They came to consume your content, research, and buy your products. A great user experience makes your audience more loyal. (Don’t you find yourself going back to the same sites over and over?) Exactly, you want to be the go-to website for your users. You can measure repeated visits and bounce rates to make improvements in user experience. Loyal visitors will increase your RPM over time. The key is to make it as simple as possible for the user to achieve their goal on the page. 

Increase your Page RPM with CodeFuel

CodeFuel offers higher ROI for publishers through solutions that increase page RPM, optimizing search traffic, and engage users. The idea is to monetize the website while keeping visitors engaged and interested by providing relevant ads for searches. 

Learn how Codefuel helps publishers to engage their users and monetize their content. Contact us today. 

11 Trends that Will Shape the Future of Ecommerce in 2021

11 Trends that Will Shape the Future of Ecommerce in 2021

2020 accelerated the pace of e-commerce by leaps and bounds. Trends like personalization and customer experience are shaping the way companies, and customers connect. According to Statista, retail e-commerce sales increased by over a billion $ from 2019 to 2020 and are expected to grow almost another billion by 2021. Sales will continue to grow, reaching over $6.5 billion by 2023.
Retail e-Commerce sales worldwide

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Ecommerce is a huge and extremely competitive industry. Therefore, you need to continually monitor the trends to be ahead of the competition. At CodeFuel, we collected the top e-commerce trends you need to know in 2021.

What Do You Need in 2021 To Ride the E-commerce Wave

1.AR Will Become a Standard for Online Shopping

What once was a “nice to have” feature is now common in more online stores. AR is changing the online shopping experience because it reduces the uncertainty of not being able to try on the product. For instance, companies like IKEA allow customers to overlay their products in any room in the customer’s house.

ikea-place

By giving customers a feel, they can now see how they would look with that shirt or how the coffee table would look in their living room. AR usage in e-commerce sites has grown by 2020 and is expected to continue growing by 2021.

2.Personalization and Customer Experience

Personalizing as much as possible the customer experience is the key to win the new e-commerce game in 2021. People value and remember good customer experiences.

Implementing on-site personalization can increase revenue and reduce bounce rates. Strategies such as serving the customer in the preferred channel, using AI-powered tools to present personalized ads can increase engagement and conversions.

However, companies should be careful with personalization efforts so as not to impact customer’s data privacy.

“Customer concerns about the security and privacy of their online data can impede personalized marketing at scale. Best-practice companies are building protections into their digital properties.” McKinsey.

 

3.Conversational Technology Continues to Grow

Research company Gartner project that the adoption of conversational AI will grow more than 100% by 2025. Consumers are increasingly using voice technology (Alexa, Google Home) for search and shop. Features like Alexa Voice Shopping let you order and complete purchases with voice commands.
Let’s say you run out of eggs, or napkins, or want to order takeout, you can tell your voice assistant. The device keeps your payment details and even remembers past purchases.

AI-powered chatbots are another trend that is here to stay. Now the chatbot can talk to you in a natural, humanized way and take your previous search history with the company to adjust recommendations and answers.

4.AI-Powered Solutions Help Learn About Shoppers

The more you know about your customers, the better you can serve them. Understanding customer behavior lets you provide personalized recommendations and suggestions. Just like a helpful store assistant.

AI helps businesses learn about their customers’ preferences and purchasing behaviors, giving them personalized customer experiences. An example is Diageo’s Bulleit brand of bourbon whiskey. The company used social listening technology to discover a niche in bartenders struggling with wasted skills when the bars are closed.

AI-powered analytic tools can help your company forecast customer demand and prepare for peak times. AI also improves the shopping experience for customers by matching previous customer information and giving real-time recommendations.

5.More Video Content

While we talk about video, consumers are spending more time every day watching online videos. A global forecast estimates that the average person will watch 100 minutes of online video by 2021.

According to PWC, mobile video advertising is expected to grow more than non-mobile video advertising in the next four years.

US Advertising media size
Global e-Commerce payment methods

Source

6.Headless E-Commerce.

Implementing headless e-commerce can improve your company’s ability to adapt to changes. Headless architecture allows website owners to make adjustments in the front-end without having to carry the same changes to the back-end. Companies like Herschel, Gibson, Michael Kors, and Best Buy made the switch to headless architecture.

headless website architecture
Source: Herschel

Benefits of headless architecture:

  • Quick actualization of the front end – when you introduce new content, you can instantly see the changes.
  • Better user experience – headless commerce is compatible across devices and viewing formats. This provides a better alternative to traditional responsive design.

7.Online Sales Will Continue Growing and With it the Competition

The growth of online commerce seems unstoppable. Statistics show that the e-commerce market grew the equivalent of 10 years in 3 months.

US eCommerce penetration

Source: McKinsey

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, online shopping has become the new normal for most consumers. With stores shutting because of lockdowns, consumers are resorting to online shopping for purchases.

The reason? Online shopping provides a safe, comfortable and
convenient way to shop from home or on the phone.

Experts predict this change is here to stay, even in a post-pandemic market. That is because online shopping gives consumers a quick and contactless way to purchase.

“We saw that consumers immediately shifted their online buying habits with roughly 75% of our consumers at eBay buying more items online,” explains Scott Kelliher, Head of Brand Ads and Partnerships at eBay. “Almost 85% of them plan to keep this new higher level of e-commerce spends for the foreseeable future.”

8.Mobile Shopping Will Grow Strong

It’s a fact that most consumers spend a lot of time daily on their phones. Then, using the phone to make purchases just seems natural. Buying from your phone provides the ultimate convenience when doing it right. An intuitive interface and easy checkout are critical.

Platforms like Facebook (and Instagram) take advantage of these opportunities offering features such as Facebook and IG Shops and in-ad purchases for SMEs to grow their businesses. No surprise, then, that the m-commerce volume will continue to grow over the next few years.

us m-commerce volume

10. Increasing Costs of Acquisition Makes Retention More Important Than Ever

Although the number of online shoppers is increasing, acquiring a customer will be more expensive in 2021. At the end of 2020, we saw digital marketers investing heavily in paid search, and an increase in search shopping ads.

US search ad spending

Source

Costs of online advertising will only grow as online shopping expands to social media shopping. Therefore, companies will need to come up with creative advertising strategies to reach more shoppers while keeping costs under control.

One result of this trend can be a focus on retention strategies and conversion optimization. As competition grows, it is more important than ever to catch and retain customers’ attention via shopping ads that answer your customers’ queries while they are looking.

11. Social Media Purchases Will Grow

2020 brought new e-commerce features for social media channels. Facebook and Instagram added Shops, and in-ad purchases, intending to boost online shopping in their channels. As small businesses were one of the most impacted by lockdowns, Facebook launched a platform for business, adding tools and features to help SME to reach customers through social media.

Customers are carrying on more activities in social media than scrolling down cute videos. According to Statista: ”As of April 2020, 37 percent of U.S. internet users between the ages of 18 to 34 years reported they had purchased something via social media before but did not do so regularly”.

Social media platforms and e-commerce companies are tapping into this window of opportunity. TikTok, for instance, after its exponential growth last year, announced it is testing a feature that will enable users to add shoppable links in their videos. Instagram did something similar in 2020 by adding shoppable IGTV videos.

How Do You Know If a Trend is Right for Your Business?

All the trends mentioned before may seem overwhelming. How do you know which one can be right for your company? Here some pointers to get you started:

  • Pay attention to industry influencers and news: check what is trendy with influencers in your industry, so you can relate to them, and keep current on industry news to be up to date with trends.
  • Use digital tools and analytics to understand your customer’s behavior: many of the current trends depend on how well you can understand your customers and answer to their needs. Use data analytics tools to understand what they are shopping for, where, and when.
  • Check out your competitors: this may be useful to adapt your strategy. Is your competitor doing something that works? Maybe you can use this strategy for your audience? It is worth a try to check them out.
  • Ask your customers: nothing really tops knowing from first hand what your customers think. Use post-purchase surveys, quick polls, and reviews.

What’s Next?

Now that you know the top trends that will shape the e-commerce industry this year, it is time to apply some following recommendations for your company: 

  • Optimize your digital strategy to convert and retain customers.
  • Use digital tools to refine your reach.
  • Prioritize giving a great user experience with personalized content.

CodeFuel solutions enable publishers to increase their ROI through search monetization solutions that optimize search traffic, engage users, and boost revenue.

How CodeFuel Can Help

CodeFuel solutions enable publishers to increase their ROI through search monetization solutions that optimize search traffic, engage users, and boost revenue. 

Our engagement and monetization solutions help publishers by bringing together engagement and monetization, we leverage the searcher’s intent to increase conversions. 

How do we do it?  

  • Deliver relevant ads to targeted audiences on apps, websites, extensions, and more.
  • Leverage searcher intent, through presenting the right ad at the right moment
  • Engage users through enriching publisher’s assets with shopping offers and news, across devices, increasing exposure. 

When you bring ads that are relevant to the searcher, it helps strengthen the connection of the user to the publisher, which becomes a trusted source. As a result, CodeFuel solutions bring value and optimize conversions both for publishers and advertisers by giving a great user experience to the consumer. 

At CodeFuel, we are continually seeking innovative ways to generate revenue for our publishers and media buyers. Start engaging users and monetizing content with CodeFuel contact us today! 

New Year. New GEOs to grow your business

New Year. New GEOs to grow your business

Happy New Year everyone! As we start 2021, here’s hoping for a happy, healthy, and prosperous year for all of us. We are delighted to start the year with good news and announce that we now have Bing search coverage in even more GEOs to help you serve searchers in more countries. 
Expanding your reach to additional countries is not the only benefit here, as we also now have coverage for mobile traffic in 34 countries. While in the past year due to Covid-19 we have seen an increase in desktop traffic, mobile traffic keeps growing as well.    

The list of countries now serviced across desktop and mobile are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, and Vietnam.  

As a reminder, search coverage is also available in Russia, Belarus, Moldova, Kazakhstan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, connecting searchers with search results powered by Yandex across mobile and desktop. 

Our team is happy to assist you in implementing search solutions and making the most out of the available new countries. Please feel free to reach out to your Account Manager for more details.

Not working with us yet? Now is definitely the time to join!  

Tips to monetize user searches and boost conversions

Tips to monetize user searches and boost conversions

Statistics show that 90% of Internet users which reported search activity visited an online retail site or store, of which 74% purchased a product online. E-commerce is booming, and despite the re-opening of malls and physical stores, consumers still prefer shopping online.

Your customers are visiting your site and you can optimize this opportunity to monetize their search. This article shows you how.

What Users Search: Do. Know. Go

When users search the Internet, they want to perform one of three major action categories: Do, Know and Go.

Do” searches are also known as transactional queries. Users look to perform a specific action, such as purchasing a product or booking a service. These are the kind of queries that e-commerce sites look for.

Know” searches are informational queries. Users want to learn about a specific subject. This kind of queries can sometimes lead to “do” queries. For example, if a user wants to select their next holiday destination, they may start with a generic query [summer holidays south Europe] and then filter until they select where they want to go. At this point they can make inquiries with buying intention.

Go” queries occur when a user searches for a specific brand or product name. For example, if a customer is looking for Gucci, giving them Chanel will not do.

Customer Journey and Intent

The journey of a customer that is doing a transactional query goes through a series of stages, from knowing about the product until the actual purchase. Which each step, the chances of finalizing the purchase increase: 

  1. Awareness – when the customer discovers the product. At this stage the purchasing intent is weak.
  2. Interest – when the customer finds out relevant details about the product. This stage may prompt the decision for buying.
  3. Intent – this is when the customer decides to buy the product.
  4. Consideration – at this stage, the customer evaluates where to buy the product.
  5. Purchase – the moment of purchase.

While it seems straightforward, many customers fail to complete the journey, because they don’t buy the product or because they purchase from a competitor.

How to Identify Users Intent

Shopping platforms such as Google or Bing identify the users by analyzing the keywords used by them when searching. Although it is not an exact science, customer intent can be inferred and classified according to the keywords used.

The more specific the keywords used, the higher the buying intent. For example, a search term “skirts” has a very buying intent, although “navy pencil skirt ¾ length” is more specific and shows a higher intent to buy. The higher buying intent is in exact product names as search terms, for example, “Aroma Electronic Drum Set S-15”

To make the most of the visitors’ intent, apply search monetization strategies for your site.

Search Monetization Tips

There are a few tips you can implement to help monetize your site’s traffic. The first thing to do is ensure your site receives enough traffic. To achieve this, you can apply a couple of site optimization techniques: 

  1. Optimize your page loading time – slow sites not only have higher bounce rates but also figure lower in search engine rankings. You can optimize the loading time by reducing the file size of the images in your site.
  2. Ensure the design is responsivemobile searches and purchases amount to nearly half of online purchases.
  3. Ensure your site provides true value – you do this by analyzing which keywords people search for and check that your content, including the ads, match those keywords.

Once you get a decent amount of traffic, you can start earning revenue. Common monetization strategies include:

  • Advertising
  • Sponsored posts
  • Affiliate marketing

The name of the game is to give value to your customers at every step of the customer journey. The easier the searcher can find what they are looking for, the earliest they will make a purchase decision. One way to give your visitors more value by serving shopping ads to searchers.

Boost Conversions by Using Shopping Ads

Product Ads are online ads that feature products matching a search query. They include the essential details of the product: image, name, price, name of the seller and copy.

Serving shopping ads to your customers presents a few advantages: 

  1. High-positioning: Product Shopping Ads are always at the top of search engine pages, responding to an organic search made by a potential buyer. Therefore, your product will draw attention of high intent buyers.
  2. Boost conversions: people are less likely to abandon a search if they click on an ad featuring an image, making product ads more effective than text ads.
  3. Save on bidding: when you use product ads you need not bid on different keywords, since products ads show for several related keywords.

You can display the product ads in a search results page, or on your website. One example of a versatile solution is Shopping Fuel. Based on Bing Ads, it allows you to serve products by different sellers and affiliates. This saves you on having to bid independently by keyword, and you can manage your shopping campaigns more effectively.

Conclusion

Attracting visitors and keeping their attention is not an easy feat. The average person will stay less than a few seconds on a website if they don’t find what they are looking for. When you are looking to boost conversions, there are a few tips you can implement: 

  1. Identify your customers intent: analyze the keywords so you can target the higher intent buyers
  2. Provide value that matches that intent: not only in your content or product. All of your website should provide the customer with as close as possible to what is looking for.
  3. Optimize your website: your website should be easy to navigate, responsive, and fast to load to keep customers interested.
  4. Use product shopping ads: the ads are a useful solution that can draw customers to your site. They target exactly according to your customer search and can boost conversions.