Google AdX vs. AdSense

Google AdX vs. AdSense

Since Google launched Google AdX, publishers have been wondering what exactly is the difference between AdX and Google AdSense. This article will explore both tools to help you decide which one is better for your company.

Google AdX Overview

Google AdX is an ad exchange. This programmatic advertising platform offers real-time bidding (RTB) on ad inventory to demand-side platforms (DSPs), agencies, and ad networks, including AdSense.

What This Means for Publishers

Publishers can sell their ad inventory to advertisers, agencies, and ad networks through RTB (real-time bidding) software, allowing publishers to sell ad space to many potential buyers from a central platform.

An ad exchange provides publishers with access to a larger pool of advertisers, helping them obtain maximum profit for their ad space. In addition, because the ad prices are determined in a real-time auction, the ad exchange optimizes the ad allocation.

The Benefits of Using an Ad Exchange:

  • Automate ad inventory monetization.
  • Access a larger pool of advertisers.
  • Maximize the yield by setting minimum CPMs for ad units.
  • Block inappropriate or irrelevant ads.
  • Decide the ad placement in the webpage.

What it means for advertisers

Ad exchanges offer advertisers access to more ad spaces and websites, increasing the variety of inventory choices. It also gives buyers more control over where their ads will run. Because the ad allocation process happens in real-time, advertisers can reach their target audience instantly.

Some benefits of using an ad exchange for advertisers:

  • Automates the media buying process
  • Gives control over the bidding process, including profiling, price settings, to targeting options.
  • You can re-target their ads on multiple ad exchanges.
  • Enables ad frequency customization.
  • If you need it, you can blacklist an audience or website.

How to join Google AdX

The easiest way to join Google AdX is to ask you Google for an Account Manager. Google will assign an account manager to any publisher that uses the Google Ad Manager. If you are eligible, then your Account Manager will offer you to join Google AdX.

How do you know if you are eligible for Google AdX?

While Google doesn’t make their eligibility criteria, we can deduct some basic conditions to join the exchange:

  • Your content should be brand-safe. This includes avoiding:
    • Health, medical or drug-related information
    • Racial or religious content
    • Adult content
    • Political or weapons-related content
    • Tobacco or alcohol sales.
  • 5 million pageviews a month
  • Your ads.txt file needs to be up to date with details of the inventory buyers.

If your site has one of the following criteria, you won’t be accepted: 

  • Your content is non-supported language. There are several languages Google doesn’t monetize, for example:
    • Estonian
    • Greek
    • Hebrew
    • Romanian
    • Serbian
    • Latvian
    • Croatian
    • Lithuanian
  • Your site alters its behavior without the users’ consent. Examples may include redirections or automatic downloads.

Why is so hard to gain access?

The reason the entry barriers are so high is that Google considers AdX as a premium ad exchange. Most of the campaigns running in Google AdX are priced according to the cost per mille (CPM). Google curates the ads are served on premium quality websites online.

How does it work?

Google Ad Exchange connects buyers and sellers of ad inventory. The platform is based on programmatic advertising technology. Therefore, the media buying happens in real-time. According to the target audience, the system offers bids based on the criteria set by advertisers. The ad exchange will then conduct a real-time auction for the ad inventory.

Google AdSense Overview

AdSense was originally an internal product when it was launched back in 2003. Its goal was to display content-based advertisements on partners’ sites. Today, Google AdSense is available to every website owner with a Google Account that meets the criteria. Unlike AdX, AdSense is an ad network.

How does it work?

Google AdSense matches ads to your site based on your content and target audience. The ads are paid for by advertisers who want to promote the products. All this process happens automatically.

Publishers make their ad spaces available by pasting the ad code in their website and choosing where they want the ads to appear. Advertisers bid for the ad space in a real-time auction, and the highest paying ads show on the website. Google AdSense then bills the advertisers and pays publishers for the ads on their sites.

Learn more about how to monetize your website with Google AdSense

How to join Google AdSense

To join Google AdSense you need first to have a website that meets the criteria. Here are some of the requirements:

  • The website owner needs to be at least 18 years old.
  • Your content needs to be unique and comply with Google policies: no adult, violent or inappropriate content.

Benefits for publishers

Some benefits of using Google AdSense for publishers: 

  • Multiple ad formats
  • Access to a large pool of advertisers.

Benefits for advertisers

  • Can customize the criteria for their advertising.
  • Access to publishers that cater to your target audience.

Adx vs AdSense Comparison


Definition
Transaction model
Type of buyers allowed
Best for

Google AdX

An ad exchange platform for publishers, advertisers, and agencies that enables to exchange of inventories via real-time or private auctions.

Supports preferred deals, real-time or private auctions. You can use a CPM, CPC, or other pricing models.
Advertisers and agencies from other networks, SSPs, DSPs, and from the Google Display Network.
Large publishers with more than five million pageviews/month.

Google AdSense

An ad network that gathers inventory details from publishers and passes them to advertisers or agencies to place their bids.

Supports pricing on CPM and CPC models only.
Only allows advertisers from the Google Display Network to bid.
Small and medium publishers.

What’s the payment model of Google AdX and AdSense?

You may want to know how they pay and who pays more?

Google AdX pays once the threshold balance is reached, at the end of the month. On the other hand, Google AdSense initiates the payment process that takes 21 days to complete. Once the 21 days are over, the publisher gets the payment within 5 to 7 days.

It is hard to compare which one generates more revenue as it depends on too many factors. According to one study, AdX gets slightly ahead of AdSense.

However, if you want to get the maximum possible revenue, there are other alternatives, such as CodeFuel, which maximizes the yield for publishers.

Which is better for you?

Choosing the best alternative between AdSense and AdX will largely depend on your company’s size and what you want to achieve. But let’s summarize the differences between both platforms.

AdX enables multiple advertisers bid for the ad inventory in real-time. The platform is dynamic and geared to preferred deals. AdX is best for: Large publishers with a lot of traffic and the capability of managing ad placement and monetization.

AdSense is an ad network of small and medium publishers. Multiple ad formats are targeted to your site’s content and audience. AdSense is best for: publishers with a medium traffic, small to medium business size, without much technical knowledge.

An alternative to AdX and AdSense

CodeFuel, a complete monetization platform, offers better returns than both AdX and AdSense and a comprehensive approach for monetizing your digital properties. The platform delivers highly targeted contextual ads. The CodeFuel platform works with AdSense and other ad networks, so you have broader options.

A Brief History of Google AdX and AdSense

Google AdX started in 1996 as DoubleClick, an independent brand which offers ad serving. In 2008, Google acquired Double Click, expanding the platform into DoubleClick for Publisher (DFP) and DoubleClick Ad Exchange.

AdSense was released by Google in 2003, as a free service available to publishers. It allows them to display ads on their websites and it is easy to use for small and medium-size publishers. It became extremely popular among publishers since the entry barriers are lower than for AdX.

FAQs

  • Is AdX better than AdSense?

    AdX gives you access to premium campaigns that are not available in AdSense. Therefore, AdX is geared to premium suppliers with a large pageview. AdSense is more suitable for small and medium publishers.

  • Is Google AdX a DSP?

    A demand-side platform (DSP) helps advertisers find the best ad spaces to run their ads. It enables them more control over where they want their ad to run and the criteria to run it. In a sense, Google AdX works as a DSP for the advertiser’s side.

  • Is Google AdX a SSP?

    A supply-side platform (SSP) helps publishers sell their ad inventory in automated auctions. These platforms maximize the yield of advertising space. In a sense, Google AdX works as a SSP for the publisher’s side.

  • Is AdX better than AdSense?

    AdX gives you access to premium campaigns that are not available in AdSense. Therefore, AdX is geared to premium suppliers with a large pageview. AdSense is more suitable for small and medium publishers.

  • Is Google AdX a DSP?

    A demand-side platform (DSP) helps advertisers find the best ad spaces to run their ads. It enables them more control over where they want their ad to run and the criteria to run it. In a sense, Google AdX works as a DSP for the advertiser’s side.

  • Is Google AdX a SSP?

    A supply-side platform (SSP) helps publishers sell their ad inventory in automated auctions. These platforms maximize the yield of advertising space. In a sense, Google AdX works as a SSP for the publisher’s side.

Why CodeFuel Is a Better Alternative?

CodeFuel enables publishers to connect to high paying premium advertisers without steep entrance barriers. It is best suited for publishers with a medium to large traffic and provides contextual ads tailored to your target audience interests and needs. The seamless integration of the ads with the content enhances the user experience and effectively increases conversions. Start monetizing your digital processes with CodeFuel.

Top Media Planning Tools You Need in 2022

Top Media Planning Tools You Need in 2022

Organizations invest money and efforts in choosing the right channels to deliver their marketing campaigns. But the process of media planning can be time consuming and complex. To be effective, marketers need tools, templates, and software that streamline the media planning process, as well as help analyze and track performance and budget.

So, how do you choose the right media tools? Here we bring you the top list you should consider in 2022.

What Is Media Planning?

Let’s start with a definition:

Media planning is a process used by marketers to decide when, how often, and where they will run ads to achieve the organization’s marketing goals. 

The media plan includes instructions on how to distribute the budget and resources, the channels they will use, and what type of ads will be run.

Elements of a Media Plan

What is in the media plan?

The media plan should be detailed and clear. Besides a detailed budget, it should contain the steps you’ll take for your advertising strategy, which channels will you use for your ads, and how frequently will you run them.

Some of the elements that  you may find in a media plan include:

  • Your business goals: you should align the strategy with the organization’s general business goals.
  • Your audience: who does your ad need to reach?
  • Your conversion goals: what are your goals for this campaign? What would you consider a successful outcome?
  • Your budget: what’s the budget you can or will assign to this advertising campaign? How is the budget distributed among the different ad types and channels?
  • The pricing model: what pricing model will you adopt? Cost per click, Cost per Mille, or Cost per Action?
  • The media channels: What media channels will you use for each ad type? Where will you advertise?

Learn more about media planning with our Essential Guide to Media Planning and Free Templates

Top Media Planning Tools

There is a myriad of media planning tools available, both free and paid. We ranked the best options for you:

1. Hubspot media planning template

Hubspot Media Panning Template

Source: Hubspot

If your focus is budget tracking, the Hubspot media plan template is a complete solution. It features automated reporting, tracking and attribution. You also get charts that adjust automatically to spending and ROI. The best feature? It is free to download.

2. Media plan HQ

Media Plan HQ

Source

When spreadsheets—no matter how advanced—are not enough, it is time to move to a scalable platform. Media Plan HQ enables you to manage multiple media plans with a clear structure. It allows the creation of detailed media placements, capturing the information the team needs to execute media placements from booking to delivery and attribution. The platform also tracks media spending and enables split budgets in campaigns.

3. BluHorn

BluHorn

Source

This platform is focused on programmatic media buying. It integrates data from Social media and ad networks into a proprietary programmatic buying portal. It is integrated with Google Analytics so you can compare spending to traffic results. The platform is cloud-based, so you can access your data and resources from anywhere, anytime. It integrates with Nielsen, Google Analytics, Facebook, and AWS.

4. Quantcast Media Planner

Quantcast Media Planner

Source

It is a service for agencies and marketers that helps them find audiences that match their campaign targets. The service is free and provides users with visibility into audiences, reporting and analysis in a single platform. Quantcast Media Planner enables marketers to segment searches by demographics and interests.  It is AI-powered and gives fast granular insights.

5. Comscore

Is a tool for planning and analyzing media across platforms. It gives marketers data on digital platforms, television and film. The service provides audience data and insights that help marketers plan their media.

Difference Between Media Planning and Buying

Usually, there is confusion between media buying and media planning terms. Let’s clarify.

What is media buying? Is the purchasing of advertising space from a media channel. Before the Internet, media buyers would purchase buying time from a tv station, print or ad space from a magazine, or billboard signs.

With the appearance of online marketing, now media buyers can purchase ad space on a website, or set programmatic bids on ad networks.

Thus, there are two main types of media buying:

  • Manual (direct):  Direct buys happen when media buyers negotiate ad space inventory directly with publishers.
  • Programmatic (automated): Here, media buyers buy ad placements with the help of automated technology.

According to eMarketer, programmatic buying is fastly becoming the standard for media buying, with 90% of the digital ad budget spent on programmatic buying.

Digital Display Ad Spending Forecast

Source

Want to learn more? Check our Media Buying Ultimate Guide

Types of Media Planning

Selecting the right media channels for your campaign can be a bit tricky. The best strategy should be based on what makes your audience tick, which media they consume. It makes no sense to publish in offline media for a digital audience, for example. Most organizations are using a combination of channels, which is called the media mix. 

Media mix: This is the combination of media channels an organization uses to meet its marketing goals. 

What should you include in your media mix? Again, it will depend on your audience, and campaign objectives. Here are some of the most popular media channels marketers use.

Offline Media

    • Print media: Magazines and printed newspapers are not dead, and could be a good way to reach a targeted niche. For example, when advertising for a local audience. In addition, newspaper and magazine readers are usually higher educated and with a higher income.
    • Radio: Radio still has appeal. It is a low-cost medium and highly effective when combined with other media. While it is common to listen to online broadcasts and podcasts, 68% of U.S adults still listen to the radio.
    • TV & Cable: TV is still highly visual and has all the advantages of a video channel. You can demonstrate a product in real-time. Despite the enormous popularity of streaming media, Americans still watch an average of 3 hours and 17 minutes a day.

Average time spent in watching TVSource

  • Outdoors media: billboards can get a lot of attention. They can be expensive, though, with rates in the US ranging from $1500/month for a billboard in Philadelphia to $20000/month in NY. Billboards on the right side of the road, are typically more expensive than those on the left side of the road. Traditional outdoor billboards are also less invasive and highly trusted by viewers.

Online media

  • Social media: It is a cost-effective medium and one that can be finely targeted to reach the intended user. Social platforms offer brands to connect with user communities interested in their type of product, or service.
  • Programmatic advertising:  Programmatic advertising is the automated way to select the best ad placement for an ad and the best advertiser for a publisher. This technology uses an algorithm to find and target the right audience for each ad, across digital platforms. The entire process takes seconds, via an automated bidding process. There are two main bidding methods:
  • Programmatic bidding: this method enables advertisers to use demand-side platforms to buy ads on ad exchanges and supply-side platforms based on their target audience.
    • Pay per click (PPC): It is a cost-effective medium, where advertisers pay for every click their ad gets. It also enables publishers to retarget people that visited their sites.
    • Real-time bidding: it allows advertisers to bid on impressions geared to their target audience. If their bid wins the automated tender, their ad gets displayed.
  • Digital publications: newsletters and other digital publications offer advertisers the opportunity to reach their database via a personalized newsletter, a direct email, or sponsored posts. As many blogs and digital magazines are specialized, they make it easy to reach your target audience and generate leads.

Why Do You Need Media Planning Tools?

Media planning is a continuous process that requires effort to keep the campaigns aligned with the marketing goals. You need to adapt to the needs of your audience and understand the channels you can use to spread your company’s message.

Trying to get an effective media campaign without the help of technology is practically impossible these days. You need tools, templates, software, and data that give you insights and provide a framework you can follow.

Simply put, media planning tools make your work easier by helping you manage the different channels, resources, and messages you use in media planning and buying.

What To Look For in a Media Planning Tool

Media planning tools need to help with high-level tasks, like budgeting, planning, and pulling reports. You need a tool that gives you visibility over your entire campaign, especially when you are running multiple campaigns.

Two characteristics that can solve the above pain points are first, using cloud-based media planning and management solutions, and second, using tools that integrate well with your existing software. 

Here are key features you should look for when shopping for media planning software:

  • Data structure and organization: controlling the data taxonomy, naming conventions, and tagging is critical to organizing it. I prevent classification errors and missing data. When looking for media planning software, look for a solution that enables you to customize your data classification.
  • Streamline work process: global teams don’t need to use a different app for each task to accomplish, an integrated single platform with collaboration features and storage.
  • Campaign tracking and optimization: look for a solution that simplifies tracking campaign metrics and performance. Integrating with social media, and ad network platforms are a plus.
  • Results and reporting: measuring the campaign performance, engagement, and spending requires serious reporting capabilities. The best media planning tools generate custom dashboards that give you easy visibility and reporting.
  • Security features: in the age of data breaches, protecting your marketing data from unauthorized access is vital. Look for a solution that includes strong user access permissions control and other security features, like encryption, and traffic monitoring.
  • Customer service and support: installing a new platform can take some time and a learning curve. Look for a solution that offers dedicated customer support, FAQs, and a knowledge base so you can hit the ground running with the platform.

How To Craft The Perfect Media Strategy

When you start with the media plans, here are some tips you can follow:

  • Choose the media channels that offer the most reach: analyze which media outlets can maximize the exposure to your target audience. For example, advertising on live-streaming events ensures your audience is already watching the program live.
  • Set clear goals: what do you expect from the campaign? Is the goal to increase brand exposure or lead generation?
  • Focus on engagement: what media mix will encourage your audience to talk about your brand? Pick a strategy that will work with what makes your audience tick.
  • Select your attribution models wisely: your attribution model can effectively track online and offline media. The right attribution model can help your team make data-driven decisions.

Increase efficiency and profitability

Media planning tools can increase the efficiency of your media buying strategy. But if you want to boost your revenues using a monetization platform is the way to go. In addition to leveraging the right channels for your strategy, working with CodeFuel helps you maximize yield through optimizing your landing pages. Wherever you buy media, with CodeFuel you enjoy the flexibility to deploy your monetization pages in conjunction with other offers, on your domain or utilizing our ready to go pages. Talk to us today and start maximizing your media and marketing efforts.

What is vCPM? A Guide for Publishers

What is vCPM? A Guide for Publishers

Viewability is one of the key aspects when assessing the value of digital advertising. While a few years ago, publishers could earn revenue simply by placing ads on their site without considering if the ad got any views. Today, with digital advertising, advertisers value viewable impressions. Publishers should understand how the costs of impressions are measured.

Wondering how to use vCPM to your advantage? Don’t worry. Here at CodeFuel, we’ve got you covered. This guide will explain how vCPM works and improve your revenue.

vCPM Definition

vCPM refers to the cost of a thousand viewable impressions. That means how many people see the ads on the web page. 

What Exactly is Viewability?

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) uses the following criteria to define a view:

  • The percentage of the ad visible on the user screen should be at least 50% and be displayed at least for one second.
  • For large ads above  242,5 pixels, the percentage of the ad visible should be at least 30% for one second. 
  • Users should at least see more than 50% of video ads for longer than one second.

For an ad to be considered “viewed” — and therefore, measured into the 1000 views, it should meet those conditions.

What You Should Know about vCPM

When an advertiser wants to bid on vCPM, they need to know the percentage of the ad visible and the number of viewable impressions, which will determine the actual vCPM. Any portion of the ad not visible on-screen (i.e., outside the screen) gets deducted from the total.

Ads Above the Fold

“Above the fold” refers to the section of your site that appears first to the users when they visit any page. For instance, the header, text, images, video, and ads appear before the user scroll down.

When you place an ad above the fold, more people will see the ad since 100% of the ad appears. However, the average ad viewability is only 68% because of the bounce rates.

Above the fold and Beyond the fold ads

Source

Ads Below the Fold

When you place an ad below the fold, the ad viewability is reduced to 40%. Therefore, it is better to place it directly below the fold and figure out what position is best for you. You can use heatmaps to determine which ad placement works better with your website users.

What Are the Benefits of vCPM?

Advertisers look at viewability as a KPI that helps them assess the value of the impressions inventory. These days, advertisers demand 100% viewability, which is not feasible because a percentage of users will bounce.

vCPM provides cost savings for advertisers because they don’t have a non-viewable percentage like CPM.

For publishers, adding vCPM to your programmatic strategy can be an advantage since advertisers bid more on viewable impressions.

Moreover, because Google only pays for viewable ads, it is increasingly important for publishers to improve their vCPM to maximize their revenue.

vCPM vs. CPM

CPM

CPM stands for “cost per mille,” or the cost per a thousand impressions. In this case, advertisers should pay for every thousand served impressions, regardless of whether the ad is viewed or not.

The calculation formula for CPM is as follows:

CPM = Total Campaign Spend X 1000


Number of Impressions

CPM doesn’t account for viewability which is an advantage for publishers. A publisher with 20% viewability and others with 80% viewability gets the same payment.

vCPM considers the ads that are visible to the user. Therefore vCPM increases when the ad viewability decreases. When a publisher has 20% viewability, an advertiser needs to buy five times more impressions. But if the publisher’s viewability is over 50%, advertisers can buy one impression.

Learn more about pricing models here.

How To Calculate vCPM

VCPM stands for the cost per thousand viewable impressions. Advertisers pay based on 1000 viewable impressions on the ad placed, not only the ads served. Therefore, advertisers will only pay for active and visible ads on the user’s screen. As such, the viewability determines the actual cost of the campaign.

The formula for calculating VCPM is as follows:

vCPM = Total Spend  / 1000


 (Total impressions * % in-view)

Let’s explain it better with an example:

Let’s say we review our campaign data and find the following variables: 

  • Budget: $100,000 as part of the total company’s advertising budget.
  • CPM: $1.20 per click
  • Total impressions: $ 20,000,000
  • Viewable impressions: $10,000,000
  • Maximum vCPM bid: $4.00
  • Ad viewability: 68%

When we apply our formula: 

 (100,000) / (20,000,000 * 68%)  /1000 = $7.35

This result means each viewable CPM is $7.35.  

VCPM and Percent-in-View

Ad viewability is not the only factor to consider. For example, a buyer with a budget of $1000 can:

  1. Buy 100,000 impressions with 25% viewability
  2. Buy 30,000 impressions with 50% viewability.

The choice is clear when you calculate vCPM for both options.

For option A, vCPM is $40, and the B option is $66.6.  So for the advertiser, the second option will be more expensive.

What does it mean for publishers? For publishers, increasing the viewability can improve your bids in open marketplaces.

What Is a High vCPM?

A good viewability rate is above 68%, which is the industry standard. However, consider that the lower the viewability, the higher the vCPM. A high vCPM can deter advertisers or encourage them depending on your viewability rate.

An advertiser can be more likely to bid on impressions with low vCPM and high viewability.

How Can You Improve Your vCPM?

vCPM depends on ad viewability metrics. Here are some tips for publishers to improve viewability and increase the vCPM.

  1. Experiment with different ad placements to improve your ad performance.
  2. Compare the different placements’ data and use heatmaps to understand which positions work better. 
  3. Avoid cluttering your webpage with too many ads since it will disrupt the user experience.
  4. Try different ad formats. For instance, Google reports that vertical ads perform better than horizontal ads.

What’s Next?

Instead of seeing viewability as another metric, consider it your potential edge to compete with other publishers. By applying the tips we mention in this article, you can attract premium advertisers. Even better, you can leverage CodeFuel, a monetization platform that will increase your revenue as a publisher while keeping advertisers happy. Try CodeFuel today.

Top Ad Servers for Publishers in 2022

Top Ad Servers for Publishers in 2022

Website owners are busy improving their monetization strategies to adapt to a cookie-less market. While growing your customer base and producing high-quality content is necessary, choosing the right ad server is critical to maximizing your campaigns. An effective ad server streamlines campaign management. Publishers can track the ads’ performance on their sites so you can quickly demand changes and scale their digital marketing strategy.

We did the work for you and selected the top 5 ad servers. In this guide, we’ll explore each one as well as alternatives worth considering. Let’s start.

Short in Time? These Are Our Top 5 Ad Servers

Complete and customizable ad serving platform.
A build-your-own ad server suite.
Self-service ad server with a pay-as-you-go pricing model.
An ad-server platform that offers a high degree of control for publishers.
An ad-serving platform that enables selling new and remnant inventory.

What Types of Ad Servers Are There?

Ad Servers can generally be split into four categories according to two criteria:

  • Hosted. An outside company hosts these. Their update is automatic and requires no maintenance on the publisher’s side.
  • Self-hosted. The publishers do the maintenance. While they offer more control, the publisher is responsible for installing, maintaining, and updating the software.
  • Third-party. Advertisers use these to track ad campaigns and collect audience data.
  • First party. These are mainly used to serve ads and manage ad placement targeted to their audience.

As a publisher, ‌choose the best type of online advertising software based on your business goals and your company’s needs. For instance, if your business is growing, you should look for a solution that gives you the scalability you need.

What Is an Ad Server?

An ad serving platform is a type of advertising software that manages, selects, and serves ads on a website or app according to pre-defined criteria. Publishers and ad networks use ad servers to simplify ad management. 

Ad servers also generate reports from campaign metrics, such as the number of impressions and click-through rate. This helps publishers track advertising performance and target their audience effectively.

How Does an Ad Server Work?

Each ad-serving platform has its features. However, core functions are common to all solutions: The process starts when a user opens a web browser and goes to a website or a mobile app. The browser sends an ad request with specific criteria to the ad server, including the ad size, location, placement, and type of device. 

The ad server selects which ads can be right according to that criterion and the bidding, which then are displayed on the website or mobile app. The server also tracks the impressions and click-through rate, storing this data on the publisher’s ad server.

Benefits of Using Ad Servers for Publishers

Ad servers benefit advertisers but also help publishers gain more revenue and sell ad space more efficiently. Here are some of its benefits for publishers 

Ad servers can help publishers increase their revenue

Since ad servers are part of the programmatic advertising cycle, they allow multiple buyers to bid on an ad inventory in real time. This competition results in higher bids, increasing the publisher payouts. 

Ad servers help publishers manage and optimize their ad campaigns

Publishers use ad servers to help their inventory offer reach larger pools of advertisers. An ad server simplifies managing ad space, particularly for multiple websites or digital properties. 

An ad server provides a central interface to manage the ad placements. You also save time by leveraging automation. 

Ad servers help publishers achieve more accurate targeting. Ad servers offer a range of functionalities in the digital advertising ecosystem, and one of the main ones is delivering targeted ads. An ad server displays ads based on different targeting criteria and ensures the ads reach the most relevant users. 

Targeted advertising saves brands time, money, and effort by allowing them to send the right ad to the right customer. Accurate targeting helps brands understand customer needs and meet their expectations, thus increasing customer engagement and conversions.

6 Best Ad Servers For Publishers

There is a wide range of ad serving platforms

1. EPOM

Powerful Ad serving platform - EPOM

Epom Ad Server is a complete ad management platform for the cross-channel advertising business. It offers extensive customization, multiple ad formats, auto-optimization algorithms, and a supply-side platform (SSP).

Key Benefits

  • A white-label solution, easily customizable.
  • Full of useful features, including targeting, analytics, campaign management, and optimization.
  • Built-in cross-channel formats
  • It can sell remnant inventory

Good for: Publishers and networks that need a customizable ad-serving platform.

Pros 

  • Real-time campaign data
  • Scalable and stable
  • You can delegate work via the roles and permissions feature.

Cons

  • The user interface has functionality but is not user-friendly.
  • There are few analytic templates.
  • It doesn’t have a ticket system.

2. Kevel
Build a Custom Ad Server with Kevel

Kevel suite integrates a suite of APIs that facilitates publishers to build their ad servers. It delivers full control over its ad server. Supports multiple ad types and ani-ad blockers.

Key Benefits: 

  • Its server-side serving means a fast serving of ads and monetization.
  • The JSON API enables you to turn organic content into an ad.
  • Access to a first-party data management platform.
  • Granular reporting.

Good for: Companies that want to sell their ad inventory directly and not via programmatic.

Pros

  • Easy to use interface
  • Well documented API
  • Frequent product updates

Cons

  • The user interface is slow to load.
  • The object hierarchy and terminology are complex and confusing.
  • Reporting lacks features.

3. AdGlare

Ad Server SoftwareAdGlare is a self-service ad server. It has a pay-as-you-go pricing model depending on the number of ad requests in a month. The AdGlare platform supports different types of ads, such as banner displays, in-stream video ads, and rich media ads.

Key Benefits:

  • It has a well-designed dashboard so users can track and manage the campaigns.
  • It has targeting features such as geo-targeting and browser targeting
  • It can be integrated with Content Management systems

Good for: Mid-market publishers looking to manage and directly sell ads.

Pros 

  • Simple UI/UX
  • Fast to launch campaigns
  • Client dashboards
  • Multiple ad types
  • Good support

Cons

  • You cannot sell your remnant inventory with other networks.
  • You cannot customize the software.
  • It has basic features, and the website inventory is somewhat limited.

4. Smart

Smart Ad Server

Smart is a platform that offers a high level of control to publishers. They can run programmatic and direct campaigns across multiple digital formats and screens. The platform offers a unified auction functionality that helps.

Key Benefits: 

  • Provides granular reporting, helping optimize the campaign performance.
  • You can deliver custom ad experiences.
  • Serves as an SSP
  • Generates analytics in real-time, helping with forecasting
  • Has advanced targeting options

Good for: Premium and large publishers with sizeable traffic.

Pros 

  • Easy to use with an intuitive user interface
  • It offers a free trial
  • Works across multiple device types. 

Cons

  • Lacks in-depth traffic stats
  • The updates are too frequent
  • The price is a bit on the higher side.

5. Google Ad Manager

Google Ad Manager

Previously known as Double Click, Google Ad Manager is a complete ad serving platform providing flexibility to sell direct and remnant inventory. It serves ads immediately, and it is easy to use.

Key Benefits:

  • Integrates with Google Adsense and Double Click Ad Exchange.
  • You can monetize remnant impressions to maximize yield.
  • Includes malware detection capabilities.
  • It is free to use up to a specific limit.

Good for: The ad server comes in two versions: one for small businesses and a premium server. The basic tier is free and doesn’t have traffic requirements with an AdSense account. The premium tier is for sites with a minimum 90 million traffic requirement.

Pros 

  • You can manage all your ads in one place.
  • There are different attribution models on the platform.
  • The data analysis is clear and useful.

Cons

  • It lacks independent verification of metrics
  • It has a learning curve
  • The margins are not transparent

6. App Nexus (now Xandr)

Xandr Ad Server

Now rebranded as Xandr, AppNexus offers an online auction infrastructure with a built-in marketplace, Demand-side (DDP) and Supply-Side-Platform (SSP), and an ad server. The platform simplifies running a unified auction for all buyers so you can maximize your yield. Xandr also comes with analytic functionality so you can get historical data reports, yield forecasts, and inventory availability.

Key Benefits: 

  • Supports multiple types of ads, including display, native, and video across different screen sizes.
  • It comes with DSP and SSP.
  • The dynamic allocation feature enables the demand to compete against direct deals.

Good for: Large publishers with sizeable traffic and impressions volume.

Pros 

  • Exclusive supply deals
  • Integration with internal platforms
  • Custom audience segments
  • Header bidding

Cons

  • The platform seems dated
  • Extremely complex to learn and use
  • Poor support
  • Higher CPM

The Best Ad Server Alternative

Now that we have gone over the best ad server platforms, we can explore some alternatives. You don’t ‌‌need to use an ad server and can generate revenue outside Google. Unlike most ad serving platforms, you can combine several ad networks and maximize your revenue.

CodeFuel

Monetize your Digital Platform with CodeFuel

CodeFuel is a holistic solution for publishers, integrating ad management, search, and news monetization. The platform leverages AI and machine learning to provide highly targeted contextual ads that enhance the user experience.

With CodeFuel, you can monetize any digital property, website, application, and extension. The features include site and app monetization, search mediation, and news feed.

Pros

  • Flexible, offering monetization options across several platforms and verticals
  • All in one solution for all monetization needs.
  • Integrates with several ad networks, including Bing, Yahoo, and premium Google AdSense programs

Cons

  • Not suitable for small publishers.

Learn more about other alternatives here.

How to Choose the Best Ad Server?

Now that we have gone over the top ad servers and alternatives, here are some features you should look for when choosing an ad server.

  1. It should be easy to deploy and use. 
  2. Able to manage multichannel campaigns.
  3. Integration with Google Ad Manager can help include remnant ad inventory.
  4. Extensive analytics across campaigns.
  5. Comprehensive targeting.
  6. Support for multiple ad formats. 

Most ad servers cater to both advertisers and publishers. Therefore, it is best to choose a solution designed specifically for publishers, such as CodeFuel.

What Types of Ad Servers Are There?

Ad Servers can generally be divided into four different categories according to two criteria:

  • Hosted. An outside company hosts these. Their update is automatic and requires no maintenance on the publisher’s side.
  • Self-hosted. The publishers do the maintenance. While they offer more control, it also means the publisher is responsible for installing, maintaining, and updating the software.
  • Third-party. Advertisers use these to track ad campaigns and collect audience data.
  • First party. These are mainly used to serve ads and manage ad placement targeted to their audience.

As a publisher, ‌you should choose the type of online advertising software based on your business goals and your company’s needs. For instance, if your business is at a stage where it is growing, you should look for a solution that gives you the scalability you need.

Why Do You Need an Ad Server?

As a publisher, you need to be on top of the state of the content on your website. It should be unique, high quality, and tailored to your audience. A high-quality website that attracts high-paying advertisers enhances conversions, ultimately creating an impact on the bottom line.

However, even the best content and site design won’t suffice without proper ad management. If you want your ad inventory to attract good advertisers, you need to track performance. This is where ad servers come in.

Technologies such as real-time bidding simplify the bidding process for advertisers, but you still need to track the metrics and optimize the user experience. An ad server gives you a central interface to refresh ads, set frequency, and generate reports according to metrics.

How Does an Ad Server Work?

Each ad serving platform has its own set of features. However, core functions are common to all solutions: The process starts when a user opens a web browser and visits a website or opens a mobile app. Next, the browser sends an ad request with specific criteria to the ad server, including the size of the ad, the location, placement, and type of device.

The ad server selects suitable ads based on that criterion and the bidding; these ads are then displayed on the website or mobile app. The ad server also tracks the impressions and click-through rate, storing this data on the publisher’s ad server.

Ad Server vs. Ad Network

It’s not uncommon to confuse an ad server for an ad network and visa versa. However, these are two very different solutions.

An ad network is a software solution or service that connects advertisers to publishers. Ad networks collect the ad inventory from publishers and make it available to advertisers. 

An ad server is a technology that displays advertisements on publishers’ websites. The software “serves ads” on the websites.

First-Party vs. Third-Party Ad Servers

You may have heard of different types of ad servers, among them first and third-party servers. What are they, and which one should you choose for your strategy?

First-party ad servers are for publishers.

A first-party server places the ads in front of users on websites and applications. The ad code and tools live in a self-hosted ad server. 

Types of ad servers

There are different types of first-party ad servers, including

  • Open source,
  • Video,
  • Mobile,
  • Display,
  • Native,
  • Rich Media.

How do first-party ad servers work?

These publisher-side ad servers sit between the publisher’s website or application and the programmatic back-end tech. The ad server sends the ad requests to the programmatic bidding platform when the user visits the site or opens the app.

The programmatic advertising platform performs the real-time auction and sends the winning bid to the ad server. Then, the ad server serves the ad into the ad space on the publisher’s website or application.

As complex as this seems, it only takes a fraction of a second while the page loads or the application opens.

Third-party ad servers are for buyers and agencies.

Advertisers and agencies use third-party ad servers to manage and upload their campaigns. A first-party ad server connects with the third-party ad server to pull the winning ad creative after the programmatic auction.

Third-party ad servers, also called advertiser-side servers, include campaign management features, analytics, and reporting.

How do third-party ad servers work? 

The first-party server sends the ad request to the third-party server according to the ad tag and the contextual data surrounding the user. On its side, the third-party server uses this information to choose the best ad that meets the campaign requirements.

Both servers work together to complete the digital advertising cycle.

FAQs about Ad Servers for Publishers

What Is a Publisher Ad Server?

First-party ad servers enable publishers to manage the ad inventory on their websites by displaying ads sold to advertisers.

How Much Does an Ad Server Cost?

Many options are available on the market, and each has a different pricing scheme. Some, like Google Ad Manager, are free until a certain number of impressions. Others have a subscription model, and some others a pay-as-you-go.

How Do Ad Requests Work?

A user opens a website or app. The code added in the website requests ads from the ad server according to set criteria. The ad server responds by serving suitable ads based on that criteria.

Can You Set up an Ad Server From Scratch?

An ad server is more than serving the ad; returning a web file when called. An ad server also has management and targeting capabilities, analytics and forecasting, and tag management. You must hire a product manager even if you build one from scratch.

How Can I Increase My Ad Request?

Here are some tips:

  • Experiment with different ad networks.
  • Choose the right ad server for your needs.
  • Try different ad formats.
  • Invest in attracting more traffic to your website.
  • Make your site mobile-friendly. 

How CodeFuel Can Help Publishers

At CodeFuel, we help publishers maximize their monetization yield by enhancing the user experience. Our solution suite leverages search, shopping ads, and newsfeeds to deliver highly targeted ads that improve the user experience and conversions. CodeFuel then presents a complete alternative to an ad server. Try CodeFuel today. Sign up.

CodeFuel, a Perion company, Awarded Microsoft Advertising Global Supply Partner of the Year

CodeFuel, a Perion company, Awarded Microsoft Advertising Global Supply Partner of the Year

We are delighted to share that CodeFuel has been selected as the Global Supply Partner of the Year. CodeFuel is one of only five companies globally that have reached the status of a global partner. The official announcement was made during Microsoft Advertising Elevate on the 27th of April 2022, the annual global partner summit exclusively for elite and select partners.

This prestigious award is given to the supply partner who has demonstrated excellence in partnership with Microsoft Advertising across the board. As a search supply partner, we fill an important role and we are committed to continue and work on building technology & business solutions to drive value as a partner.

Scroll down to read the press release

 

 

Perion’s Search Advertising Business Unit, CodeFuel, Named Microsoft Advertising’s “Global Supply Partner of the Year”

April 28, 2022

TEL AVIV & NEW YORK–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Apr. 28, 2022– Perion Network Ltd. (NASDAQ: PERI), a global advertising technology company, announced today that its search advertising business unit, CodeFuel, has been named Microsoft Advertising’s 2021 Global Supply Partner of the Year.

CodeFuel has been selected as the Global Supply Partner from the Microsoft Advertising regional winners – all of them distinguished and effective partners – across the Americas, EMEA, and APAC. It is one of only five companies globally that have reached the status of a global partner, each in its area of expertise.

This prestigious award goes to the business that has shown excellence in partnership with Microsoft Advertising across the board. The announcement was made during Microsoft Advertising Elevate on 27 April 2022, the annual global partner summit exclusively for Elite and Select partners.

“We’ve had a partnership with Microsoft that extends more than ten years, and this recognition as Microsoft’s Advertising Partner of the Year is a moment of great pride in a long history of successes. Yet it is only the start,” said Doron Gerstel, Perion’s CEO.

“As consumers globally relied on ecommerce to an unprecedented degree – advertisers responded by investing more into search – which is the category where consumers demonstrate the highest degree of intent. Capitalizing on this generational shift required close collaboration between the CodeFuel team and the Microsoft team, and the results speak for themselves. Going forward, we will continue to build our network of publishers, while maintaining the impeccable quality standards which matter so much to both of us,” Gerstel added.

“The millions of daily searches that our publisher network generates are one aspect of Perion’s diversification strategy. Thanks to our continued investment to connect all demand and supply assets to central iHUB, the success of our cookieless targeting platform SORT™, and our high impact CTV and video advertising offering – Perion is poised to further accelerate its momentum,” he concluded.

“We are thrilled that CodeFuel, a Perion Company, has been named our Global Supply Partner of the year. This is an award which reflects the growth of the underlying business, which is the result of true partnership, close collaboration, and technology innovation. CodeFuel’s commitment to their clients has been noteworthy, during a time of disruption and uncertainty. We look forward to our continued partnership and continued healthy growth of all aspects of the business,” said Sean O’Connor, International Marketing Director at Microsoft Advertising.

“The growth we have achieved in the last couple of years reflects the close collaboration and the teams’ dedication to our mutual success, year after year,” said Tal Jacobson, General Manager, CodeFuel.

“If I could name three main areas of effort that brought us to this point, I would say technology investments, close collaboration with our publishers to fuel growth, and focus on quality to maximize user engagement and brand safety. We look forward to further driving success for publishers and advertisers,” added Jacobson.

About Perion Network Ltd.
Perion is a global technology company that delivers strategic business solutions that enable brands and advertisers to efficiently “Capture and Convince” users across multiple platforms and channels, including interactive connected television – or iCTV. Perion achieves this through its Synchronized Digital Branding capabilities, which are focused on high impact creative; content monetization; its branded search network, in partnership with Microsoft Bing; and social media management that orchestrates and optimizes paid advertising. This diversification positions Perion for growth as budgets shift across categories.

About CodeFuel
CodeFuel, a Perion company, delivers powerful search solutions for publishers and media buyers. Its search technology suite equips publishers with tools to enhance user experience and drive revenues across desktop and mobile. To learn more, go to www.codefuel.com, or follow us on Twitter @Code_Fuel

Forward-Looking Statements
This press release contains historical information and forward-looking statements within the meaning of The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 with respect to the business, financial condition and results of operations of Perion. The words “will,” “believe,” “expect,” “intend,” “plan,” “should” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements, and our preliminary results also constitute forward looking statements. Such statements reflect the current views, assumptions and expectations of Perion with respect to future events and are subject to risks and uncertainties. Many factors could cause the actual results, performance or achievements of Perion to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements that may be expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements, or financial information, including, among others, the failure to realize the anticipated benefits of companies and businesses we acquired and may acquire in the future, risks entailed in integrating the companies and businesses we acquire, including employee retention and customer acceptance; the risk that such transactions will divert management and other resources from the ongoing operations of the business or otherwise disrupt the conduct of those businesses, potential litigation associated with such transactions, and general risks associated with the business of Perion including intense and frequent changes in the markets in which the businesses operate and in general economic and business conditions, loss of key customers, unpredictable sales cycles, competitive pressures, market acceptance of new products, inability to meet efficiency and cost reduction objectives, changes in business strategy and various other factors, whether referenced or not referenced in this press release. Various other risks and uncertainties may affect Perion and its results of operations, as described in reports filed by Perion with the Securities and Exchange Commission from time to time, including its annual report on Form 20-F for the year ended December 31, 2021 filed with the SEC on March 16, 2022. Perion does not assume any obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

What are IAB Standard Ads?

What are IAB Standard Ads?

As the digital advertising industry keeps growing, the myriad of agencies, companies, and publishers are forced to abide by some regulations and standards to be able to work together. The standard that regulates ads in the advertising industry is called the IAB standard. Keep reading to learn what are IAB standards, and how can publishers can benefit from them.

What does IAB Mean?

IAB Logo

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) is a regulating body for the ad tech industry that sets standards and guidelines for the industry. The IAB was founded in 1996 as a non-profit. Its operations include developing industry standards, conducting research, and providing legal support for the digital advertising industry.

The IAB Global Network consists of 42 international organizations worldwide, with 27 national IABs only across Europe, covering over 500 companies. The organization produces many valuable resources like the IAB Annual Report 2021 study,

What are IAB standards?

IAB standards are a guide, a set of best practices, geared to guide publishers and advertisers to follow a common set of technical specifications. These standards are set with the goal of maintaining ad measurements consistency, protecting consumer privacy, and reducing ad fraud.

IAB Standards

IAB standards according to their areas of focus 

The Typical Standard IAB Sizes

There are three standard sizes:

  • Leaderboard (728×90).

It is a rectangular digital ad, also called a horizontal banner ad. It is one of the most popular ad units. Below is an example from Forbes.

Horizontal Banner AD

 

  • Medium Rectangle (300×250).

This size is commonly used by websites that monetize with display ads. Here is an example from CNN’s website.

Medium Rectangler AD

This medium sized ad is one of the most used since 2017, back when Google allowed publishers to place 300×250 units above the fold.

Average Viewability of AD

Source

When the ad is placed above the fold it has more viewability.

  • Skyscraper (160 x600).

These are vertical ads often displayed on the side of the screen.

Skyscraper Ads

Source

These ad units are not only the most popular but also often the most profitable as they are consistently in high demand from advertisers. But these aren’t the only ad sizes recognized by the IAB, among them are also the billboard ad (970×250), the smartphone banners (in two sizes, 300×50 and 320×50), and the portrait size ads (300×600).

As a publisher, you should experiment with using a mix of different ad sizes to see which ones yeild better returns.

IAB New Ad Portfolio

The IAB Tech Lab developed new guidelines for a New Ad Portfolio. These standards are geared to improve the ad experience on multiple platforms, such as mobile, websites, and social media. Moreover, these guidelines take into account new technologies such as virtual reality and augmented reality ads.

Another consideration of the new ad portfolio is the new privacy regulations and fraud protection, such as the phasing out of third-party cookies. Some of the New IAB Ad Portfolio guidelines include:

  • Advertisements shouldn’t be disruptive‌.
  • User experience is a top priority.
  • Users should be given control over their advertising experience.
  • Ads need to render as fast as possible.

This New Portfolio (New Standard Ad Unit) replaces the previous guidelines, providing additional standards for new units. 

Flexible Ads

These ads are based on aspect ratio instead of fixed pixel sizes. The reasoning behind this is that today’s users connect to the internet using multiple devices, therefore, ads need to adapt to different devices and screen sizes.

Flexible ad units keep their aspect ratio regardless of the devices they are displayed. This ensures the ads are rendered across different screen sizes and integrated with responsive websites.

LEAN Ads

LEAN AdsLEAN stands for Light, Encrypted, AdChoices supported, Non-invasive ads. By serving users with LEAN ads, the user experience gets priority, for instance, by minimizing the page loading time. LEAN ads don’t replace the current standard sizes but provide new guidelines in addition to size requirements.

IAB Guidelines for Display and Mobile

These guidelines aim to guide publishers on file size limitations as well as to serving ads in HTML5, with the goal to improve user experience.

  • There is a limit of a maximum of 15 file requests for each initial file load so it won’t negatively impact page performance. Initial load is the total compressed file size of creative assets delivered to the browser for display. 
  • IAB recommends publishers and ad servers use browser aching and shared libraries in HTML5 Ads. By doing this, you can improve the ad load performance.
  • Creatives should build ads to perform without disrupting site or app performance. IAB recommends a max 30% CPU load per active ad. 
  • For host-initiated file requests, the maximum number of file requests is ten, during initial file load. You can load additional files during sub loads and user-initiated loads.

New Ad Sizes

Flexible size ad specifications

Source

  • Smartphone Banner

This type of ad unit is between 200×200 for a small square to 320×320 for a mobile full page, according to the IAB standards. The most popular variations are 320×50, 300×50 and 300×10. 

  • Billboard

It is an IAB standard and can be featured on every type of page, as well as on tablet devices. The standard size is 970 x 250. Digital publishers offer billboards as an ad option, such as this example from The Guardian.

Billboard Ads

  • Portrait

A portrait ad unit is measured at 250 pixels in width but 1200 pixels in length vertically. As a result, this ad extends below the fold. The large size enables advertisers to incorporate multiple sections.

What is the IAB Tech Lab?

The IAB Technology Laboratory (Tech Lab), is a non-profit with the goal to develop standards, build growth and cultivate trust in the digital media industry. 

The Tech Lab consists of digital publishers, ad tech firms, agencies, and marketers. IAB Tech Lab delivers solutions to prevent ad fraud, protect consumer privacy and identity, and programmatic effectiveness. It also develops standards, specifications, and guidelines to standardize the industry and improve ad experiences.

The IAB Tech Lab is independent of the IAB, with a different board of directors. This structure enables it to accept members from outside the USA. The group has a compliance program organizations can adhere to implement protocols, specifications, and software.

Why are IAB Standards Important?

Because IAB ad units are used throughout the industry, they quickly turned into the most profitable sizes. These types of ads are always in high demand and are easy to implement, thus enabling publishers to increase their revenue. 

The Benefits of IAB Standards for Publishers

Publishers may benefit from adhering to the IAB Standards:

  • They simplify creating ad inventory.
  • The New Ad Portfolio adapts sizes based on aspect ratio, allowing the ad units to be consistent across multiple device types.
  • They provide guidelines for new digital media formats, including social media, and virtual and augmented reality.
  • The New Ad Portfolio focuses on delivering a better user experience through faster loading time.
  • The IAB standard maximizes publishers’ ad earnings when monetized via ad networks.

General Ad Requirements

According to IAB standards, these are the general ad requirements:

  • Ads need to include Interest-Based Advertising self-regulation controls by using behavioral targeting. 
  • Ad space should be defined,  such users can distinguish it from unpaid content.
  • No automatic audio play. There should be controls for the user to initiate audio.
  • For slow connections, the file weight should be 30% less than recommended.

FAQ’s

  • 1. Is AdX better than AdSense?

    AdX gives you access to premium campaigns that are not available in AdSense. Therefore, AdX is geared to premium suppliers with a large pageview. AdSense is more suitable for small and medium publishers.

  • 2. Is Google AdX a DSP?

    A demand-side platform (DSP) helps advertisers find the best ad spaces to run their ads. It enables them more control over where they want their ad to run and the criteria to run it. In a sense, Google AdX works as a DSP for the advertiser’s side.

  • 3. Is Google AdX a SSP?

    A supply-side platform (SSP) helps publishers sell their ad inventory in automated auctions. These platforms maximize the yield of advertising space. In a sense, Google AdX works as a SSP for the publisher’s side.

  • 4. Is AdX better than AdSense?

    AdX gives you access to premium campaigns that are not available in AdSense. Therefore, AdX is geared to premium suppliers with a large pageview. AdSense is more suitable for small and medium publishers.

  • 5. Is Google AdX a DSP?

    A demand-side platform (DSP) helps advertisers find the best ad spaces to run their ads. It enables them more control over where they want their ad to run and the criteria to run it. In a sense, Google AdX works as a DSP for the advertiser’s side.

  • 6. Is Google AdX a SSP?

    A supply-side platform (SSP) helps publishers sell their ad inventory in automated auctions. These platforms maximize the yield of advertising space. In a sense, Google AdX works as a SSP for the publisher’s side.

  • 7. What are the functionalities of IAB?

    According to the IAB New Standard Ad Unit Portfolio, it involves standards for display ads, native ads, new technologies like virtual reality ads, 360 degree image and video ads.

  • 8. What is the IAB standard for ad viewability?

    The IAB considers an ad to be viewed when at least a 50% of an ad is in view for a minimum of one second (display ads) or two seconds (video ads).

  • 9. What’s IAB compliance?

    The IAB has compliance programs that enable companies to adhere to set of global industry technical standards in digital advertising.

  • 10. What are the functionalities of IAB?

    According to the IAB New Standard Ad Unit Portfolio, it involves standards for display ads, native ads, new technologies like virtual reality ads, 360 degree image and video ads.

  • 11. What is the IAB standard for ad viewability?

    The IAB considers an ad to be viewed when at least a 50% of an ad is in view for a minimum of one second (display ads) or two seconds (video ads).

  • 12. What’s IAB compliance?

    The IAB has compliance programs that enable companies to adhere to set of global industry technical standards in digital advertising.

Maximize your revenue with CodeFuel!

Leveraging a monetization platform can help you comply easily with IAB standards. CodeFuel works with display and native ads that follow IAB standards and guidelines. These popular ad units drive advertiser’s demand, therefore maximizing your revenue as a publisher.