In-App Advertising: All You Need to Know and The Best Networks

In-App Advertising: All You Need to Know and The Best Networks

You’ve created the ultimate app, and now you’re looking for ways to monetize it. Here at CodeFuel, we have created this in app advertising guide to help you plan your monetization strategy and select the best monetization networks for it. It’s going to be a handful, so let’s get started. 

App Monetization Statistics

First, let’s review some statistics that show how app development and monetization have grown in the last years.

1.   There are 3.6B  smartphone users in the world

Smartphone users

More than half of humankind uses a smartphone nowadays, and the number is still growing, expecting to reach 4.3 billion users by 2023.

2.   The number of apps in the Google Play Store reached 3 billion by December 2020

Google Play apps

The pandemic stalled applications’ releases, lowering the number of applications to 2016’s levels. At the end of 2020, however, we could see a recovery tendency and now the number of apps surpassed 3 billion.

3.   Which Apps are the Most Popular?

What types of apps do people use the most? 97% of people use Communication and social apps, followed by Shopping, Entertainment, and Search, which are used by 95% of users and over 60% of users have a Gaming app on their phones.

App usage

Image source

It is not a surprise then, that social apps like TikTok and Instagram were the most downloaded in 2020. Communication apps like Zoom and Messenger following close as most people rely on them while working from home or remotely.

App download statistics

4.   Over a half of web traffic is coming from mobile devices

Global mobile website traffic share

The percentage of people using their mobile phones to access the Internet has skyrocketed in the last years. On February 2021, over half of all Internet traffic came through mobile phones, compared to 42.9% of desktop traffic and a mere 2.85% from tablets.

5.   Mobile Ad Spending is increasing

With more than half of web traffic coming from mobile devices and growing, it is no surprise that mobile ad spending is increasing too. According to Statista, mobile ad spending will surpass desktop ad spending by 2022. From $189 billion in 2019, we can expect companies to spend over $240 billion by 2022.

Mobile Ad Spending

In-app advertising is a market in expansion. In fact, Mobile in-app advertising revenues are projected to reach over $900B by 2023. This provides a great opportunity for app developers and marketers to tap into the market.

Worldwide mobile app revenues

Why is this? Because In-app advertising works. In-app ads have a 10%  higher engagement rate than mobile web apps, according to a recent report. In addition, the click-through rate of interstitial ads is 18 times higher than that of web ads.

In-app display Ads

Image source

While banners are the cheapest, they also are the less effective. Interstitial display ads are more expensive, but the CTR is much higher. Native ads have also higher conversion rates. Therefore, if you want your app to convert, in-app advertising can be the solution. True, it is a very competitive market, but let’s explore how you can actually make money from your app with in-app advertising.

What Is In-App Advertising?

In-app advertising refers to the type of ads that you find in mobile apps. It may include banners, videos, and images that are displayed right when you play the app.

How In-App Advertising Works

To use In-app advertising, you dedicate a portion of your app’s digital real estate, installation or workflow to advertising. To do this, you pair up with an advertising network specialized in in-app advertising.

There are three key steps to start monetizing your app using in-app advertising:

  1. Choose an ad network
  2. Select the type of ad
  3. Choose the right ad monetization model

Types of ads you can find in an app

The right type of ad can make or break your monetization strategy. According to the add type you choose, you can drive clicks or annoy users. You can use video or image ads, text, and interactive. As we saw above, native ads and interstitial ads perform better than banners. Let’s see which types of ads are the most popular.

Pop-up ads

You can include these ads in any kind of app. They can appear at pre-defined moments when the person is using the ad or during transitions. You can set them to appear triggered by opening the app or when doing a specific action.

Pop-up pros

  • They get noticed
  • They give a quick way to convert.

Pop-up cons

  • They can annoy the user
  • They can cover the actual content

Besides the detractors, pop-up ads actually work. According to a study by SumoMe: The average conversion rate for pop-ups is 3.09%, with the top 10% highest performing averaging a 9.28% conversion rate. 

Image source

Transitional ads

These ads appear when the user transitions between screens. For instance, if you enter your breakfast data in your calorie counter, you may get an add promoting healthy receipts.

Pros of transitional ads

  • They get users at the moment they are in between tasks
  • They keep the user engaged in the app.

Cons of transitional ads

  • The ad needs to be relevant to the action being performed in the app
  • If too promotional, it can annoy the user by being “too salesly”

Text ads

Text ads can appear everywhere in the app. When the cursor hovers over a text or at any place in the app screen.

Pros of text ads

  • They are unobtrusive
  • They are easy to set up
  • They can be anywhere.

Cons of text ads

  • Be careful not to overuse them.
  • They can be boring to the user.

Banner ads

A mobile screen is too small to fit a full size banner ad. However, you can be creative and use these ads strategically. Place it at the header or the footer, whichever it stays more visible to the user.

Pros of banner ads

  • They stand out more than other types of ads
  • Bigger visual impact

Cons of banner ads

  • Can be too small to read the text inside
  • Ensure the app screen allows the banner to be seen.

Search Feeds

Adding a search feed to your app gives users a useful tool to improve their experience. In-app search ads allow your users to search from inside your app. The more active the users of your app, the more you generate ad revenue.

Pros of search feeds

  • They are convenient
  • Enhance the user experience

Cons of search feeds

  • They are not fit for all types of apps

Best 5 Advertising Networks For Publishers

Choosing a network is one of the critical steps to ensure your success with in-app advertising. Here we did the hard work for you and listed the 5 best in-app advertising networks for publishers.

1.   CodeFuel

CodeFuel is a complete platform that allows you to monetize all your digital properties effectively. You can leverage search, ads, shopping, and news to monetize your app by using intent-based monetization.

This excellent ad platform is geared specifically with publishers in mind. There are over 1.1 k publishers with 9billion annual searches, so you’re sure your digital property will be monetized.

Key features

  • Presents relevant display ads inside your app.
  • You can add a search feed based on user intent that presents shopping ads
  • Enhances the user experience.
  • Increases conversions by keeping the user engaged.
  • Integrates with Microsoft Bing, Google AdSense, and Yahoo.
  • Performance tracking and analytics.
  • CodeFuel also offers search mediation if you want to link to other networks.

CodeFuel is a versatile ad network that gives you the flexibility to monetize your app with search feeds and relevant display ads while enhancing the user experience. The platform presents ads offering multiple ad formats, including banner, interstitial and native ads.

 

2.   AdMob

AdMob is the mobile version of Google AdSense. AdMob includes ads automatically offering multiple ad formats, including banner, video, and interstitial ads.

Key Features

  • Multiple ad formats
  • Ad mediation
  • It is suitable for beginners and Google AdSense users
  • However, it has limitations on ad placements.
  • It is focused mostly (and logically) in Google products.

 

3.   Smaato

Smaato is a mobile ad platform for publishers and advertisers that focuses on matching publishers with relevant advertisers.

Key Features

  • Real-time bidding for ads auctions
  • Allows video, interstitial, banner, interactive, and rewarded ads.
  • Allows ad mediation.

The downside of Smaato is that it works only as an intermediary, for ads not dealing with user experience or search feeds.

4.   Unity

Unity is a monetization network specifically for mobile games by using video ads. If your app is a game, Unity is your solution.

Key Features

  • Compatible with iOS and Android
  • Compatible with all game engines including Marmalade and Adobe Air.
  • You can set up in-app purchases.
  • They support interstitial, video, or banner ads through CPM or CPI campaigns.
  • Target demographics segmentation
  • Almost real-time reporting.

 

5.   MobFox

MobFox is an independent mobile ad network for app monetization for publishers, app developers, and advertisers.

Key Features

  • Works with all advertising formats, like Unity, Cordova, AdobeAir, and GameMaker.
  • You can target your audience by location, carrier, channel, and demographics.
  • Allows for native, interstitial, banner, video, and rich media ads.
  • Provides analytics and reports.

The downside: it seems focused on gaming monetization. It also doesn’t offer mediation or search feeds.

Why In-App Advertising Works better than Interruptive Advertising

Interruptive advertising is any type of advertising that gets in the way (interrupts) what a person is doing. It is very common, and you are most likely familiar with this type of advertising. Think about TV commercials and radio ads, for example.

While interruptive advertising has been around for a long time, it is not very effective for the digital world. When you interrupt the user, you “cut” their engagement with the app.

In-app ads are presented in the context of an app and tend to be more relevant, and therefore, more effective. Since the user is already engaged with the app, in-app advertising blends seamlessly with the user experience.

When you integrate the ad with the app experience, for example, by giving recommendations, the ad gives value instead of pushing a sale.

So, why should you use in-app advertising? Here are 3 reasons:

1.    You can guide the user experience by mixing different in-app formats

When you use in-app advertising, ads are contextual and don’t look like ads, but like helpful suggestions. By doing so, you can enhance and guide the user’s journey. Mix ad formats, for example, video, interactive, and text, so it is more engaging for the user.

2.    The user spends more time in-app

Engaged users spend more time using the app. Therefore, providing relevant and helpful in-app ads increases the possibilities of conversion.

3.    You can target ads accurately

An ad network platform can help you segment and target ads according to different groups, locations, and demographics. This helps your ads stay relevant to the customer’s journey and intent.

Use In-App Advertising to Monetize More Effectively

When you put the right ads in the right context, it gives users an experience that is more relevant to their needs. As mentioned above, this increases CTR, engagement, and conversion rates.

The key to using in-app advertising for monetization is implementing the right monetization solution. This will get you an increase in ROI. How do you do it? Here are a few tips:

  • Pick the right solution for your app. Not all ad networks are the same. Some solutions focus more on banners, others are more directed to gaming apps. Make sure the monetization solution offers ads that match your audience.
  • When choosing the ad format, choose the most relevant and put them in front of the target audience within the app workflow. The less an ad seems like an ad, the better.
  • Find a vendor that works for your business. Keep in mind which platforms do you display the app on and find a vendor that works with all of them.

 

Strategies for Mobile App Advertising

The right network and ad type need to align with your strategies for mobile app advertising. Here are a few pillar strategies to succeed:

Contextualization

It helps to blend the advertising with the app experience. This feature lets you offer value and advertising at the same time, preventing disengagement problems like banner blindness. Display ads can be tricky in mobile advertising and disconnect the user from the app. By contextualizing, you tie the ad to the app function.

Understand and Target the User Intent

What’s user intent? The term describes what is the user’s intention and purpose in using the app. For example, a user that downloads a taxi app is probably looking for rides.

A user playing a game wants to enhance their gaming experience, so you can offer in-app purchases. When you understand the user’s intent, you can target the advertising towards specifically this intent.

Improving the user experience and adding value

People use apps because they are looking to solve a problem with them. However, ads not always help with the purpose. Ads need to bring value and support the user experience. The more relevant and contextualized the ads, the higher the chances of converting.

Still, first, you need to promote your app so it can reach your target audience. How do you do it?

Getting the Word Out: Advertising an App

To get the word out in a saturated marketplace — remember they are over 3 billion apps only in the Google Playstore—, you need to be on target with your audience. To do that, start by asking the following questions:

Who are you advertising to?

Try to get as specific as possible with your audience. Chances are you already have a lot of information from when you created the app. Find out demographics, location, interests, and age group. The more you narrow the niche, the most effective your marketing.

For starters, you can work with the info you had to create your app. Once you begin advertising, you’ll get data through your ad network you can use to refine your campaigns. Learn what worked and what didn’t and re-target if necessary.

Where are they online?

If you are advertising an app, you need to reach your audience where they spend time online. Using the demographics and target audience profile you created on the last step, find out where your audience hangs out online.

  • Create buyer personas and use this data to find out which social media channels they are more active on.
  • Search on sites that cover your audience’s interests. Use social listening tools, search forums, or question-and-answer sites like Quora.
  • Look at your competitors. Where are they promoting their apps? Chances are you have a similar audience.
  • Survey your customers. Add a small survey after downloading, or in the middle of the app, workflow to check where your customers hang out online.
  • Search Facebook Groups. Groups are a great source of information and offer you a ready-packed audience that is interested in what you offer.

How do you reach them?

Now that you know who is your audience and where they are, it is time to find the optimal way to reach them. You can promote your app via social media platform ads, through buying advertising space, or using an ad network.

You’ll want to find ad networks that target your audience where they spend time online. For instance, if your target is professionals, LinkedIn will be more effective than Facebook, if your target is young people, try Instagram or Tiktok.

Find the right advertising solution

You can be as creative as you need to get the word out about your app. Some innovative advertising methods include smart installers, pay-per-install solutions, and bundling. Affiliate marketing, for example, lets you recruit online marketers to promote your product.

Advertising an app is not an exact science, you need to measure and refine your campaign until you get results.

Cool and Unusual Ways to Advertise your App

In the age of social media, you want the app to get the most exposure possible. You want everybody to know about it and use it.  Here are some out-of-the-box ideas to advertise your app.

Collaborate with Influencers

What is influencer marketing?

Influencer marketing is when companies partner with influencers in order to increase brand awareness or conversions among a specific target audience. (Bigcommerce)

According to a study, the ROI of influencer marketing can be 6 to 1, meaning for every $1 invested in influencer marketing, you can get $6.5 in return.

Partnering with an influencer can spread the voice of your app very quickly and on target. After all, almost half of the people look for an influencer recommendation before making a purchase.

Here are some tips to make the most of influencer marketing:

  1. Find an influencer that caters to your target audience.
  2. If your product is very specific, try a micro or medium influencer.
  3. Look for an influencer with great rapport and steady relations with followers.

Social media

Nowadays, most consumers are using social media platforms before deciding whether buy something. You should advertise in the channel where your customers are. Over half of apps are discovered outside the app store.

Here are some tips to promote your app on social media:

  1. Use paid ads on social media platforms.
  2. Encourage user-generated content
  3. Ask for reviews and ratings.
  4. Tease your audience and create anticipation with tweets.

Viral marketing

A viral marketing campaign is designed to generate the most buzz around your app possible. The whole point is using the public as your medium to spread the word.

How do you generate the buzz? You can create a giveaway, a contest, or an event. You can use clever tweets, combined with a funny and memorable video in TikTok.

Provoke your audience, encouraging them to spread the word. A viral marketing campaign should be interesting enough that people would be compelled to share the video. Adding a freebie, for example, in exchange for shares can attract attention.

How to Optimize Your In-App Advertising Strategy in 10 Steps

In-app advertising helps brings a steady income, so you’ll want to do it right. The more effective your advertising, the more users will want to download and use your app. Below find some tips to monetize effectively with in-app advertising.

1.   Put the User First

A user-centric approach in all your designs, from the user interface, to your website and ads, will help give a consistent user experience. Focus on giving a seamless user experience throughout all the elements that the user comes into contact with.

2.   Test New Ad Formats

There are new ad formats appearing every once in a while. If it seems your current ad formatting is not working, mix it up. Test different formats to see which ones work better for your users, and increase conversion rates. Mix expandable ads, mobile video ads, recommendation engines, and interactive ads are some of the formats you can try.

3.   Optimize What You Have

Sometimes you cannot go over budget for every new strategy. If you’ve hit the ceiling of what new trends you can try, optimize what you’ve got. Keep re-testing and improving your existing strategy.

4.   Use a One-Stop Mobile Marketing Shop

You can be tempted into signing in to every ad network and monetization program under the sun to maximize your returns. However, this can result in spreading your efforts too much, first, and you’ll end analyzing data and ROI from a hundred sources.

Instead, sign up for a monetization and promotion platform. You can then manage all your analytics and monetization solutions under a centralized dashboard. A platform also integrates different ad networks giving you a unified solution.

5.   Make Engagement a Priority

Downloading your app and using it are two different things. In-app advertising can work only if you got your user’s attention. Create a high-value app they want to use again and again. Then, integrate ads seamlessly into the app so they will stay engaged.

6.   Focus on Usability If You Want Conversions

An app that is difficult to use can put off users after they download the app. When you design an app, remember:

Designing for conversion = Designing for Usability

The easiest to use is your app, the better the user satisfaction. Sometimes, flashy graphics and heavy downloads make the user experience cumbersome. Whatever the goal of your app, ensure that your user can achieve it seamlessly. The more usable interface, the longer people will use it.

7.   Don’t Slow Things Down

Speaking about stalling user journeys, ensure your app is easy and fast to download. The same happens with ads. If your interstitial ads take too long to download and display, users may leave the app.

8.   Add Incentives

You want ads that convert immediately, so you can add immediate incentives for action. You can include limited-time discounts, giveaways, or bargains, as a way to get users to act immediately.

Another way is to add in-app upgrades, tied with an affiliate offer, and it will likely jump your conversion rates. Or, add incentives for social sharing if you want to promote your app.

9.   Add Strong Calls-to-Action

Sometimes you cannot design the ads that appear in your app. But if you do, include strong calls to action. Add triggers like “Act Now” or “Click here for your discount”. This can influence a user to complete an action, which will increase your conversions and revenue.

10. Understand Your Users

Understanding what your users want is the best way to give them a great user experience. Conduct user testing through surveys, A/B split testing, and interface optimization. The secret to a soaring monetization strategy is to find out what your users really need and give it to them as seamlessly as possible

Should You Use a Big Network or a Niche Solution?

When you try to monetize your app, finding the right network is critical. There are top companies you can use such as Microsoft, Google, and Facebook, that boast massive reach, but is it the right thing for your app?

Pros and Cons of Big Networks

Giant networks like Microsoft, Google, and Facebook offer a few benefits for developers that advertise with them.

Pros

  • Massive reach: The main benefit is the large user base these companies have. For instance, Google’s AdMob reaches millions of users around the world.
  • Cross-platform: Most big companies offer advertisers to present ads in-app, search results, social media, and other channels.
  • User targeting: Facebook, for instance, draws from its social media data to target and optimize ads for users.
  • Multiple types of Ads: Major platforms offer many types of ads, interstitial, display, and contextual ads.

Cons

  • Lack of specialization: Major platforms reach everyone, which means they market to the masses. If you have a specific app for a defined niche, a big network cannot do the trick.
  • Too much to chose from: Large networks offer a lot of options, sometimes, too much. This can be overwhelming for startups.

Pros and Cons of Niche Solutions

Niche solutions come in where large networks result impractical. You can still benefit from large user bases, but ensuring your app stays focused on your target audience. The goal is to reach the right users for your conversions to increase.

Pros

  • Specialized Advertising Methods: Niche solutions give you the types of ads that the large companies are too big to deal with. For instance, marketing texts, recommendation engines, and video ads. If your niche is specific, then out-of-the-box ads may work better than generic ads from Google.
  • Niche Audiences: Let’s say you want to reach software users of a certain platform. It would be better if you use an ad network that reaches the users of that platform. You can use pay-per-install programs since they are already installing software. Recommendation engines can deliver relevant ads to users that search for something specific.
  • Innovation: Since niche networks are more nimble than large networks, they often dedicate resources to innovative creative approaches to monetization and advertising.

Cons

  • Not suitable for everyone: There are, however, apps that do require massive generic reach, and a niche solution wouldn’t be enough.

Best Practices for a Successful In-app Advertising Strategy

Now that we covered the basics of in-app advertising, there are some best practices advertisers should consider:

In-App Advertising Formats

Maybe you are wondering which is the right ad format or a mix of them that will give you results. To do that, first, you need to understand how the different types of ads work. Here we explain the most popular types:

Interstitial Ads

Source: Amazon appstore

Interstitial ads cover the entire mobile screen, generally at a size of 320 x 480 pixels. This size allows to display more content and the call to action becomes clearly visible. Other sizes include 300 x 400  or 300 x 250 pixels.

They are good to catch a user’s attention and to place in games in between levels, as they minimize the disruption for users. Beware of interrupting the user experience, so don’t push an interstitial ad in the middle of a game.

Video Ads

Video ads are increasingly popular, as they catch and retain the attention of the user when engaged with the device. However, if the video is intrusive, it may backfire. It’s important that the video ads are short (less than 30 seconds) and placed at natural breaks in the user experience.

Native Ads

Native ads can be of different forms and sizes, but what they have in common is that they are presented in a way that fits the publisher. Therefore, the ad blends with the app content.

They appear as part of the app’s content, thus are not intrusive or interrupt the user experience. The ad is relevant to the context of the app, making them highly effective.

Expandable Ads

This type of rich media ad, is a combination of a banner and an interstitial ad. It starts with a 320 x50 pixels banner as a teaser, then when the user taps on it, it displays in full screen. It has the advantage of being less intrusive than full-screen interstitial ads, but presenting too many can be annoying for the user.

Mobile Websites vs. Mobile Apps

Users access both apps and mobile websites via their mobile devices. Some companies wonder if is worth it to create an app, after all, they have a responsive mobile website. However, they are different things and the impact they have on the user is different too. Let’s examine the differences of mobile websites vs mobile apps.

How CodeFuel Can Help Monetize Your App

CodeFuel is a complete platform that leverages search, ads, shopping and news to monetize your application. It offers different types of ads and integrates with major search engines and networks for a complete solution. By adding user intent monetization, the platform ensures viewers get the most relevant ads in-app, enhancing conversions.

Are you ready to increase your app ROI? Learn more about how CodeFuel helps.

Top Marketing Statistics You Can’t Miss in 2021

Top Marketing Statistics You Can’t Miss in 2021

An effective marketing strategy is based on data. That’s why it is critical for marketers to stay up to date with the latest statistics, trends, and developments in the industry. Having access to the right data about SEO, consumer,  content marketing, social media, marketing trends, will give your company a cutting edge over your competitors. 

Yet, too much information can be overwhelming. Here at CodeFuel, we’ve got you covered. We collected a list of the top marketing statistics you should watch in 2021.

1. SEO Statistics

93% of online experiences begin with a search engine. If almost all online activity starts with a search using an engine, then, SEO plays a critical role in getting your website seen. You want users to find your site as a result of the keywords they are searching. If they can’t find you easily, they will find your competitors. SEO has an undeniable value by letting your So audience find you, and the higher your rank, the higher the chances your customers will find you.  Here we collected some mind-blowing statistics you need to know about search engine optimization.

Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)

  • The highest impact in conversion rates happens in the first five seconds after a page load. If the page takes longer to load the conversion rates drop a 4.42% with each extra second. 
  • Landing pages have a 24% conversion rate. 
  • Popups have only a 4% conversion rate. 

Ecommerce

  • Only half of the small businesses invest in SEO techniques and activities. Almost a fifth of small businesses don’t plan to invest in SEO in the future, while 30% say they plan to invest in SEO in the future.SMB SEO
  • Global B2C commerce is expected to reach $5 billion at the end of 2021. 

Global eCommerce

In addition to this, almost 20% of global retail sales are expected to come from online sales. Despite the re-opening of brick-and-stone stores, online sales will continue growing and take more shares from retail sales. Online sales are expected to reach over $6.8 trillion. 

  • More than half of shoppers (59%) surveyed by Google say they use Google to research a purchase they plan to make online. 

Local SEO

  • 30% of mobile searches are related to location — “where to buy” type searches—. (Think with Google
  • 45% of online shoppers choose store pickup. (Think with Google)
  • Location queries like “Where to buy” and “near me” grown over 200%  from 2017 to 2019. 

Local SEO

Mobile Search

  • According to Statista, as of January 2021, the number of active mobile internet users was over 4.3 billion.

Global digital population

  • In the US, the average user has 10 connected devices in their household. (Statista)
  • 56% of people use their mobile devices to conduct organic searches. 
  • According to Google, 60% of smartphone users contact a business directly via the search results “tap to call” option. 
  • 39% of smartphone users consider it is easier to browse and purchase from a mobile app or mobile site. 

Organic Search

  • 53% of all trackable website traffic, comes from organic search.organic search
  • The first Google desktop search result gets 32% CTR. 
  • According to Ahrefs, 90.63% of pages don’t get organic search traffic from Google. 
  • 50.3% of browser-based searches result in no-clicks. 
  • According to a study by Brightedge, SEO drives 1000% more traffic than social media. 
  • 64% of marketers invest time in SEO.
  • The average CTR from image results on Google is 0.21%.

Voice search

  • 27% of online searchers use voice search on mobile. 
  • 40 million Americans own smart speakers and the number is expected to rise to 55% by 2022. 
  • 32% of marketers use smart speakers like Alexa. 
  • ⅓ of the US population uses voice search features. (emarketer. 2019), and it is expected to reach 122.7 million users by 2021. 
  • According to PWC, 71% of consumers prefer to use voice search than type their queries. 

voice search

  • According to Finances Online, half of the users use voice search when driving, or combined with other activities. In addition, speakers are becoming integral parts of homes. 
  • Adults usually use voice search to locate stores or businesses they want to buy from.  

2. Content Marketing Statistics

Content is king, we have heard about it for the last decade. But how important is in reality having a great content marketing strategy? 

Simply put, quality content engages the viewer and gives the answers to their queries. It encourages brand recognition and conversion. We’ve prepared an infographic on the importance of content marketing based on a recent survey

Now that we stated that content marketing is an essential strategy let’s break it down by exploring some statistics on content marketing tactics. 

Blogging

  • 53%  of marketers use blogging as one of their top content marketing strategies. 
  • If your brand has a blog, you can expect 67% more leads than those that don’t have a blog. 
  • More than half of marketers use content marketing to build loyalty among the audience.
  • How often should you publish blog posts? Companies that publish more than 16 blog posts a month get 3X more traffic than those that publish 4 posts a month. 

monthly blog posts

Source

  • How long should your posts be? The average word count of a top-ranked post is 1,890 words. 
  • Posts longer than 2,000 words are the ones that rank higher in Google’s search results. 

content word count

Source

  • According to Hubspot’s analysis, the posts with more organic traffic have between 2,250 and 2,500 words. 
  • Which type of content gets more results?  According to a survey by Orbit Media, “Guides and ebooks” perform better, followed by “How to” articles, and original research content. 

Video

  • Video content is the most popular content format as of 2020, according to HubSpot. 
  • Which types of video content are the most popular?  Promotional videos and brand storytelling and the most common types. 
  • 19% of bloggers are including video in their blog posts. 
  • 72% of people prefer to learn about a product through a video than reading a text. 
  • Video marketing is expected to grow to $22 billion by 2021

Engagement

Information quality

Source

  • According to a survey, 72% of marketers said content marketing increases engagement. 

Content Strategy

  • 70% of marketers invest in content marketing (Hubspot).
  • Traffic is one of the measures of success for content marketing strategies.
    • Marketing for multiple audience segments is a common content strategy (HubSpot). 
  • 77% of companies  say they have a content marketing strategy (SEMrush) 
    • Creating topic clusters, may increase traffic and improve the search ranking. (HubSpot)

Podcasts

podcasts stats

Source

  • The popularity of podcasts has increased in the US in the last few years. According to iTunes insights, as of 2020, there were over 30 million podcasts episodes. 
  •  According to Statista, 37% of Americans listen to podcasts monthly. 
  • 75% of Americans have listened to a podcast, (Edison Research, 2020). 

3. Social media statistics

Social media usage

  • The number of people on social media globally has reached 4.2 billion, increasing more than 13 percent since 2020. 

social media use

Source

With that in mind,  it is critical for marketers to tap into social media platforms. Not only to distribute content but to create brand awareness. 

  • According to Statista, in 2020, the global social penetration rate was 49%. 
  • The most popular social network is Facebook, according to Statista. 
  • Users overlap, and Facebook users usually also use YouTube. 74% of Facebook users also use Instagram. Therefore, it is better for companies to identify the two or three platforms their users are on, and invest their marketing efforts in them. 

social media platforms

Source

  • The most used social media platforms are Facebook, YouTube and Instagram.Most used social platforms

Source

  • According to Statista, close to 800 million Chinese Internet users would access social media networks in 2023, from 673,5 users in 2018. (Statista)

Facebook

  • 2.8bn active users worldwide. 
  • 98.3% of Facebook users access the platform via mobile phone. 
  • 1.85bn daily active Facebook users worldwide. 

Facebook users

Source

  • 8 million is the number of active advertisers on Facebook, mostly small and medium-sized businesses. 
    • More than 100 million people use Facebook Watch daily (Facebook).
    • Facebook is the top content distribution channel for marketers. 
  • 79% of video marketers publish on Facebook as a video marketing channel (Wyzowl)

Instagram

    • There are 1,074bn Instagram users
  • 71% of Instagram users are under 35. 
    • The average Instagram post has 10.7 hashtags.
  • 500 million Instagram users use IG Stories every day. 
  • 71% of US businesses are on Instagram. 
  • 50% of Instagrammers follow at least one company.
  • Instagram is the channel with the second-highest ROI for marketers. 
  • 88% of users are outside the U.S.

Instagram users

  • By 2024, it is expected that Instagram will reach 149 billion users in Western Europe. 
  • 81% of consumers use Instagram to research products and services. 
  • 130 million users use the “tap to shop” Instagram feature. 
  • 58% of users say they are more interested in a product after seeing it in IG Stories. 
  • The average Instagram business account posts at least once a day
  • Instagram’s potential reach from advertising reached 1.16 billion users in Q# 2020. 

LinkedIn

  • 740 million active users  in LinkedIn
  •  According to Business Insider, LinkedIn was the most trusted network of 2020. 

Digital Trust

Source

  • Most popular platform for B2B marketing. (Content Marketing Institute)
  • The most engaging LinkedIn posts are posted on Wednesday mornings. 
  • LinkedIn conversion rates are higher than Google Ads (LinkedIn)
  • According to a HubSpot study, LinkedIn generates more leads than Twitter and Facebook.

social hubspot study

  • There are more than 55 million companies listed on LinkedIn. 
  • LinkedIn ads are more than ⅓ of the platform’s total revenue in 2020. 

Pinterest

  • As of January 2021, the number of global active users is 459 million.
  • Monthly active users grew 46% in 2020.

Monthly active users

Source

  • Women outrank men on Pinterest, but in 2020, the number of men in Pinterest increased to 40%. 
  • The potential audience of Pinterest advertising is 200.8 million, with 77% of the audience female and 14.5% male.
  • 80% of people that Pin weekly discovered a new brand or product on Pinterest. 

Pinterest discovery

(Pinterest

  • 85% of Pinners go to Pinterest when they want to start a new project.(Pinterest
  • Yet, 97% of Pinterest searches are unbranded. (Pinterest

Snapchat

Snapchat breaks the mold of other social platforms by offering to post short-lived content. This underrated social platform had Stories before Instagram. The app allows you to share messages that self-delete in up to 10 seconds. Snapchat now is one of the most popular social platforms for teens. 

  • 265 million daily active Snapchat users worldwide. 
  • 60% of Internet users between 13-24 in the U.S. use Snapchat.(DataReportal)
  • 210 million snaps are created in Snapchat every day (Snapchat)
  • Snapchat is the 2nd most used application on mobile. (Sandvine)
  • The average Snapchat user opens the app 20 times a day. (Snapchat)

DAU snapchat

Tiktok

The app has revolutionized the social media world by allowing people to post short videos with music. Within a year of development, the app reached 1 million views per day. The app started growing when acquired Musical.ly in 2017, which allowed it to cater to an existing market. During the pandemic, the app experienced a huge spike in engagement with a growth of 180% among 15-25 year old users. 

  • TikTok has 732 million active users.
  • The app has over 2 million downloads on the Google Play Store and Apple’s iOS Store. 

Tiktok downloads

  • 62% percent of Tiktok users are aged 10-29. 
  • Users spend an average of 52 min per day on the app
  • 90% of TikTok users are in the app every day.
  • On average, 1 million TikTok videos are viewed every day

Twitter

According to Statista, Twitter currently ranks as one of the social networks with more active users. 

  • As of the end of 2020, Twitter had 192 million monetizable daily active users. 
  • Twitter’s global revenue is $3.72bn.
  • The advertising revenue is $3.21bn 
  • The number of global users is projected to reach 340 million users by 2024. 

twitter use

YouTube 

YouTube is now the second most used social platform after Facebook. Most Facebook users also have a YouTube account. It is also one of the most monetized channels

  • YouTube has 3 billion active users worldwide.
  • 79% of online users have a YouTube account.
  • Users watch an average of a billion hours of video every day. (YouTube)
  • More than 70% of YouTube watch time comes from mobile.
  • 90% of users discover brands or products on YouTube.
  • It is the most popular channel for digital video consumption.
  • YouTube ad revenues in 2020, were or $77bn
  • Most YouTube users are under 35 years old
  • The best-paid YouTuber in 2020 was Ryan Kaji, a 9-year-old.

Youtube stats

Source: Statista

  • Most parents say their children 11 years and younger watch YouTube videos on a daily basis. 

Youtube stats children

Social media management

  • Facebook, Instagram and Twitter are the most common social media platforms used by marketers (HubSpot)
  • The most used marketing tactic is social listening (HubSpot)
  • Marketers say social media increases brand exposure. (Statista)
  • Most companies publish 3-4 times a week on social media. (HubSpot)
  • Customer acquisition is the top goal for social media, according to 73% or surveyed marketers. (Hootsuite), followed by driving conversions with 66%.

    4. Mobile App Advertising Stats and Trends

In recent years, as people fulfill more activities on their phones, the mobile apps market has increased significantly. Here are some stats: 

  • 218 bn app downloads worldwide in 2020. 
  • $120bn was the consumer spending in mobile apps in 2019.
  • 32% is the user retention rate of mobile apps.
    • The user’s screen time on mobile increased to 4.2 hours. 
  • Mobile advertising costs were  $240bn. 
  • According to a study by SensorTower, the top non-game app in revenue is TikTok, followed by YouTube and Tinder. 
  • In Google Play, the most-downloaded app is Google One, followed by Disney+
  • In the App Store, the most downloaded app is TikTok, followed by YouTube. 

Gaming app revenue 2021

Games usually drive the mobile app segment, but since the pandemic, games download has increased to 45% in 2020, compared to the previous year. 

Which were the top mobile games in revenue? According to Sensor Tower, the top five mobile games earned over $1billion in 2020.  

  • PUBG Mobile is the mobile game with the most revenue on the App Store and Google Play in 2020, with $2.6 bn in revenue. 
  • The total revenue for gaming apps reached $35 bn in the first quarter of 2021. 
  • Email marketing statistics

Email marketing is one of the most popular marketing tactics. According to HubSpot, monthly email campaigns have a 30% open rate. 

  • The number of active email users is expected to reach 4.3 billion in 2023. (Statista)
  • The average ROI of email marketing is $42 for every $1 spent.(DMA)
  • 90% of marketers use email marketing to deliver content.(Content Marketing Institute) 
  • 81% of small businesses use email for customer acquisition. (Emarsys)
  • Despite a lower general open rate, 82% of welcome emails are opened. (GetResponse)
  • Adding videos to your emails, increase click rates by 300%.
  • 49% of consumers like to receive promotional emails from their favorite brands.
  • Digital ad statistics 2021

  • Digital advertising spending is expected to reach $389bn in 2021. According to eMarketer, spending will increase at a rate of 17% in 2021.  
    • The average cost per action (CPA) for advertising is $49 for paid search ads and $75 for display ads. (WordStream)
  • Social media ad spending increased 20% in 2020,  reaching $43 billion. (eMarketer)
  • Mobile display ad spending reached $61bn in 2020. This represented an increase of 22% from 2019, according to eMarketer.
  • Omnichannel campaigns perform better than a single channel. 

Source:ClickZ

  • Customer retention rates are 90% higher for omnichannel campaigns. Loyalty rates are also higher in companies that offer engagement in several channels. (ClickZ)
  • Online Shopping Statistics 

Online shopping turned into the new normal and companies needed to adapt to it for survival. Online shopping has many advantages:

  • It’s convenient
  • You can opt for next-day delivery
  • Your shopping experience is more personal. 

How many people shop online? According to Statista, in the U.S. e-commerce is expected to go over $740bn by 2023. 

  • Amazon is the most popular mobile online shopping app. According to a Statista study in 2019, Amazon is the most popular shopping app.
  • 43% of online shoppers research products online using social networks. 
  • FOMO Statistics 

Everybody heard about FOMO (Fear of Missing Out). Tapping in this emotion is one of the most effective marketing strategies nowadays. It involves people wanting to stay connected with what others are doing or having, fearing that they’ll miss out on rewarding experiences. 

  • 69% of millennials experience FOMO (Eventbrite)
  • 60% of millennials make reactive purchases because of FOMO (Strategy)
  • The biggest triggers of FOMO are travel, events and food (Strategy)

Source

Where can you find reliable marketing statistics? 

Finding accurate, up to date and reliable marketing statistics is not easy. Still, if you want to define an effective digital marketing strategy, you need to start with data. Using reputable sources like the sites we explain below, you’ll create a competitive advantage. 

In Statista you can find a market, consumer data, consumer survey results and industry studies from 22500 sources. Is the go-to place for reliable industry statistics. 

This company approaches research from the side of marketers as well of consumers. They provide reliable industry data and useful facts. 

Focused on the media industry, Nielsen measures across channels and platforms to discover audience interests and behavior. You can find here social media listening and audience statistics. 

It is one of the leading information technology research and advisory companies. They focus on technical analysis and statistics. 

This leading global market research company provides studies, statistics, research and papers about customer research. 

Focuses on social media marketing statistics. Publishes an industry report, and several studies, statistics. 

Find here business statistics, reports, and studies on finance, innovation, and media. 

You can discover what the world is searching by using Google Trends. You just enter a search term or topic and select a region or worldwide search. You can also let Google tell 

you what people are looking for. 

Source

What’s Next? 

Keeping up to date with the latest statistics is critical for a successful digital marketing strategy. Especially if you want to monetize your digital property, be it a website or an app, having the latest and accurate data is essential. 

CodeFuel is a complete monetization platform that lets you leverage search, ads, shopping, and news to monetize your website or application. Our solution uses intent search to present relevant ads, allowing you to monetize while improving the user experience. You can give personalization and increase conversions, build loyalty, and improve brand recognition. 

Learn more about how CodeFuel helps you monetize and grow your business. 

CPC vs CPM Bidding: What’s the Difference in 2021?

CPC vs CPM Bidding: What’s the Difference in 2021?

CPM and CPC are pricing options that define how much money an advertiser will pay for an ad campaign on a website. Advertisers bid on ad networks according to these pricing options toon get the best placement for their ads.

As an advertiser, which one should you choose? As a publisher, which option pays better? Here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide to walk you through the nuts and bolts of CPM vs CPC bidding.

What Is Cost Per Click

Cost per Click definition: It refers to the amount you get paid every time a visitor clicks on an ad on your website. For advertisers is the cost they pay to the publisher per every click.

For example, if the advertiser’s campaign generates 1,000 clicks at a $3 CPC, you will get paid $3000.

Example for advertisers

Advertising budget: $100

Pricing model: $0.07 CPC

Number of clicks/budget:  ($100/$0.04) = 2500 clicks

Takeaway: You get the number of impressions necessary to reach 3000 clicks regardless of the CTR

What Is Cost Per Mille

Cost per Mille definition: It refers to the amount advertisers pay per a thousand impressions of their ad. For publishers is the price they charge advertisers per thousand impressions of their ad on their website. 

For example, if CPM is priced at $2 per thousand impressions and generates 10,000 impressions, the advertiser will pay $20.

Example for advertisers

Advertising budget: $100

Pricing model: $2 CPM

Number of clicks/budget:  ($100*1000/$2) = 50,000 impressions

Takeaway: You get the same number of impressions regardless of your CTR.

What’s the Difference Between CPC and CPM?

Since CPM refers to how many times the ad appears on the website, advertisers use this option to build brand visibility. By choosing websites related to their business, brands can drive awareness of their product or service.

The downside of CPM is that the advertiser pays for impressions regardless if they get clicks to their site or not.

CPC refers to how many times visitors click the specific ad. Brands choose this pricing option to drive conversions in the form of website visits or sales. When a visitor clicks on the ad, is taken to the advertiser’s site which pays the cost of that click.

The downside of CPC is that they are fewer impressions. However, the ads are targeted, and the advertiser pays when a user clicks on those ads.

How the Bidding System Works?

Advertisers bid at ad auctions managed by publishers and ad networks like Facebook or Google AdSense. Let’s clarify some basic terms of online advertising auctions:

Ad bid: The bid is how much an advertiser proposes to pay for an ad published in a network or website.

Ad budget: The budget refers to how much money a company or brand wants to pay for ads for that campaign. 

Why Do Ad Networks Use Auctions to Determine the Ads That Appear on Website Pages?

Networks use the auctions to select the best paying and more relevant ads for a website. In a typical ad auction, advertisers state the price they wish to pay for clicks on ads or impressions served in publishers or platform pages.

Related content: Top Ad Networks for 2021

The auction ranks advertisers according to their bid and (in the case of Google Adsense, the quality score). Then, the platform assigns the ad unit to the highest bidder. Therefore, publishers get high-paying ads and brands get their ads placed on relevant sites.

Related content – how to make money from Google AdSense

Cost Per Click (CPC) Bidding

In this model, the advertiser only pays if someone clicks on one of their ads. Usually, brands use the CPC bidding model when working with search ads as it increases conversions. CPC bids are ranked according to Click-Through-Rate, Quality Score, and other factors.

You have two main options for ad bidding:

  • Automatic Bidding

In this option, you set a budget for how much you are willing to pay. The ad network then presents you with as many clicks they can offer for your budget. Some networks let you set a maximum cost per click so you can control your costs.

Automatic bidding can save you time and allow you to plan your budget. If you use this option, we recommend you set a maximum CPC. 

  • Manual Bidding

In this option, you can control your maximum bids. For example, you can set what is the maximum you want to pay, be it per group, keyword or placement.

This option gives you more control over how much you spend per click. The downside is that it can be time-consuming. 

Cost per Thousand (“Mille”) Impressions (CPM) Bidding

This bidding model is more common for advertisers looking for Display ads. As we mentioned before, Cost per Mille helps you increase your brand awareness.

The advantage is that display ad bidding focus on the price. Therefore, the highest bidder ranks at number one. The downside of this method is that you can pay for a thousand impressions, but those impressions result in zero clicks. 

When CPM Is Your Best Option

CPM is the best option when your goal is to make your brand known. It is the best choice to maximize your exposure and engage your audience for the awareness state.

When CPC Is Your Best Option

A CPC model is better to encourage conversions or acquisitions. This helps you maximize your ROI.

CPM CPC
You ensure your ad will get the impressions you’ve paid for Drives revenue based on an action
It increases visibility Gets higher intent interaction
Good for starting advertisers that need to create exposure to measure CTR It is transparent (you only pay when you get results – clicks)
Great for A/B test strategies Great for retargeting campaigns

CPC and CPM Pricing for Publishers

CPC and CPM Pricing

Image source

We explored CPC and CPM models for advertisers but how does it work for publishers?

In the CPC model, you as a publisher only get paid when an ad gets clicked. How many impressions it took to get those clicks is irrelevant.

CPM is better for publishers because they are paid according to how many times the ad appears on the website. In this case, if the ad gets clicked or not is not counted.

CPC vs CPM for Programmatic Advertising

Choosing CPC or CPM model will depend on the goal of the advertiser for the specific campaign. However, for programmatic advertising CPM offers some advantages:

  • Reduced risk of ad fraud: Models like CPC and CPA can be subject to fraud like click-injection and click-spamming. Because CPM focus on the times the ad is viewed, it doesn’t offer so many incentives to fraudsters.
  • Cost-efficiency: CPM, especially dynamic CPM, allows marketers to automate their bidding budget so they can control the advertising budget.

CPM vs CPC Bidding by Platform

Every platform has a different model for ad bidding, let’s take a look at the most popular:

Facebook

Facebook

Facebook gives you two tiers for pricing options consisting of four internal options:

  • If you want to use the CPA (Cost per action) model, you should choose: “Ad result/ Website Conversions”.
  • CPL (Cost per Like) is only available if you choose: ”Ad results/ Page likes”.
  • Facebook offers CPC as a default option for bidding. This option is good for the beginning if you are a small business.

Google AdSense

Google

  • Google AdSense allows advertisers to bid according to the following types: CPC, CPM, Active View (cost per 1000 visible impressions),and CPE (Cost per engagement) 
  • Advertisers participate in an ad auction through which AdWords selects which ads will appear in what order and placement.
  • Besides CPC and CPM, advertisers can bid per Active View CPM. Meaning, the percentage of viewable impressions. What’s a viewable impression? When at least 50% of the ad is visible in the visitor’s browser window and the ad was viewed longer than a second.
  • Google AdSense also allows advertisers to bid according to the cost per engagement. The engagement action is defined by the advertisers. In this type of bidding the advertiser pays when the visitor interacts with the ad in a predefined way. Examples may include hovering over the ads for a certain length of time, taking a poll, starting a video ad, signing up for a newsletter.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn

  • LinkedIn is the platform most used by  B2B advertisers. But there are a number of LinkedIn bidding options, including Enhanced CPC and CPM.
  • Enhanced CPC is billed on a per-click basis, therefore it gives you more control over the performance of the ad.

eCPC Bid = Historical Conversion Rate * CPA Goal 

  • Implementing a CPM bid works better when the CTR is above LinkedIn’s average (>1%) resulting in more impressions and clicks.
  • On LinkedIn, you can opt for automatic or manual bidding. However, manual bidding is better on this platform because CPC on LinkedIn correlates with the CPC bid itself. In LinkedIn automatic bidding you get charged on an impression basis.

Instagram

Instagram

  • For Instagram, CPC ads are more consistent, since you know exactly how much you pay per click and can manage your budget around it. CPC is better in the Instagram context when you want to reach a specific number of clicks. The Instagram algorithm will then show your ads to the users more likely to click.
  • If you don’t have a large followers base, then CPM can help you perform better. If you know our audience, you can test your ad visibility by running a specific number of impressions. CPM works great to A/B test Instagram ads.

FAQ’s About CPC and CPM

1. Which is better? CPC or CPM?

This will depend if you are an advertiser or a publisher. If you are an advertiser, the pricing model you choose will depend on your campaign goals. If your campaign goal is to ramp up conversions and generate actions, then the CPC model is more effective. If you want to increase your brand awareness, then the CPM model works best. For publishers, the CPM model tends to be more effective.

2. How do publishers get paid on an ad exchange?

Ad exchange publishers are paid based on a metric called “effective Cost per Mille” (effective cost per thousand impressions). This rate measures the ad revenue of a campaign per the number of impressions.

3. How do you calculate eCPM?

eCPM =Total ad revenue
           (Impressions/1000) 

4. What is CPA?

This model involves paying every time a user takes an action, for example, a purchase, on a website after clicking the ad.

CPA = Advertising cost
            Number of actions

5. What is CPCustomer?

Some platforms allow companies to calculate the cost of acquiring a customer. While CPA tracks how much it costs you to get a customer to do the first action if the action is not a purchase you need to add another variable.

Cost per Customer = CPA x (Number of Leads that Buy
                                                     Total number of leads)

How CodeFuel helps Reduce your Costs

CodeFuel is a complete monetization solution that leverages search, ads, and news monetization options. CodeFuel allows advertisers and publishers to manage the costs by balancing different monetization channels, such as programmatic advertising, display and search ads.

By working with several ad networks, CodeFuel helps you get the most for your bid and reduce advertising costs. For publishers, the holistic monetization solution allows them to maximize their ad revenue while enhancing the user experience.

Learn how you can manage your advertising costs the smart way today. Contact us.

Ad Revenue: What Is and How to Increase it?

Ad Revenue: What Is and How to Increase it?

If you have a website or an application, you’ll surely want to monetize it. Using digital ads is the most common way to monetize a website. But, does monetizing through ads really work? Here at CodeFuel, we prepared this guide to help you understand what ad revenue is and how to optimize it.

What’s Digital Ad Revenue 

Advertising revenue refers to the income that people and businesses earn by displaying paid advertisements on their digital properties, like websites, social media channels, and applications along with their online content. Companies are increasingly investing in digital ads and the trend is not decreasing.

Studies forecast digital ad spending will reach $242.80 billion by 2024.

Ad Revenue Forecast

Image source: emarketer.com

The shift to online shopping of 2020 is here to stay. Consumers still spend time in online activities, so digital advertising is still going strong.

How Digital Advertising Works

Digital ads work by using advertising tools that research, track, analyze and improve online ad campaigns. Digital advertising involves more than placing ads on social media and websites. It involves personalization and targeting your audience through relevant ads.

Advertising

Types of digital advertising

As every company and audience is unique, there are different strategies for digital advertising. Each company should choose the strategy that works best for its audience and goals. Let’s explore the most popular types of digital advertising.

PPC

Pay per click is an advertising model where the advertiser pays the publisher for every click their ad receives on their page. PPC marketing is one of the most popular advertising strategies since giants like Google and Facebook started to use it.

In fact, PPC is effective, according to research, 33% of people click on a paid search ad because it answers their search query. Moreover, compared to a user coming from organic links, consumers that arrive at an online retailer via a paid ad are more likely to purchase.

PPC pricing can be quite volatile for advertisers because they have to compete and bid on keywords and ad placements with other advertisers. Usually, since ad placements are scarce, the system chooses the highest bidder.

For publishers, working with a monetization platform may ensure you get the best advertisers for your site. The platform handles the bidding and serves the ads that are most relevant for your users, therefore increasing clicks and conversions for advertisers.

SEO marketing

SEO Marketing

SEO is still one of the most effective marketing strategies and with good reason. To be able to consume ads from your site, your audience needs to find you easily when they are searching for a query.

SEO allows you to show your users that yours is the result they are looking for. With billions of searches conducted every day online, you need to ensure your site appears in their search results. And by results we mean the first page of the SERP (search engine results page). If your business isn’t on page 1, it is almost you don’t exist.

How do companies get to the first page? SEO makes it possible. If your site has authority, builds trust, and good user experience, you have good chances.

Content marketing

You may have heard the phrase: “ Content is King”. Why is this so? Because visitors come to a website looking for an answer, information, evidence, or social proof. That’s why storytelling works, and content marketing forms the base of SEO and other strategies.

Put it simply, if your content is not good, you’re not going to retain visitors, and your ad revenue will suffer.

The most popular form of content marketing are articles and blog posts ( like this one!). Articles and blogs have many benefits for publishers and website owners:

  •  give valuable information to your potential customers
  • tackle objections
  • answer frequent questions visitors may have about the products or services your target audience looks for in your site.

In addition, blogs and articles are the best-ranked digital pieces in search engines. Why? Because most of the time, searchers are looking for an answer to a query and a blog can present it to them with ease.

Good blogs can bring a steady stream of organic visitors that will use your site as a reference for their questions. Only takes a skilled writer and several cups of coffee to create content your audience will bookmark for future reference.

Influencer marketing

An influencer is a person that has a large base of followers on social media. They can be on one or several social media platforms. Influencers are usually celebrities first, and then get their fans to follow them on social media.

One of the top celebrity influencers is the footballer Neymar Jr., with over 140 million followers, who has got several sponsorships and advertising deals with brands like Puma and Diesel.

Influencer marketing I

However, there has been a trend of people becoming famous because of being influencers on a particular social media platform.

The famous chef Nusret is one of the non-celebrities famous influencers on Instagram, for instance. And his fame has skyrocketed since publishing his famous videos preparing meat and adding salt to food.

Influencer marketing II

Why are influencers so important? Because when they tell their followers how good is a product, they are more likely to buy.

Video marketing

Video ads are getting more and more traction every year. Videos are not only on YouTube now, since social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram, have opened their channels to video ads and user-generated video content.

Video marketing

Source

Adding video ads to your website is a great way to improve engagement and keep users on site. Video advertising taps onto the viewers’ emotions, that’s why ads that tell stories get more views. Matthew Luhn, a former storyteller for Pixar, told Forbes in an interview that “great stories make great ads”.

Viral marketing

Viral marketing has a bad rap but it works. Usually, viral marketing takes the form of funny videos, the funnier, controversial the videos, the faster they get shared and spread.

Take for example this video by Blendtec. The campaign combined shock and humor to promote their blenders, blending objects like iPad and iPhones. The video campaign went viral really quickly. At the time of this article, the iPad video only had over 19 million views on YouTube.

 

 

4 Ways to Increase the Ad Revenue from Your Website 

When it comes to getting revenue from your site, there are common ways, like e-commerce, advertising, or affiliate marketing. In this section, we’ll be focused on 4 ways you can increase the revenue from advertising for your website.

#1. Sell Advertising Space

This is the most common way to make money from advertising. You sell the advertising space directly to advertisers. Manage the layout so the website is not cluttered by too many ads. Bear in mind this method works better for recognized and high-traffic sites.

#2. PPC Advertising

As mentioned above, Pay-per-click is another advertising method that is very popular. With PPC ads, you get paid every time a user clicks on an ad on your site. You can use Google AdSense or another ad network, like CodeFuel. Since you don’t have to deal directly with advertisers, PPC is a great choice for website owners.

#3. CPM Advertising

CPM is similar to PPC advertising in that it pays based on an action on the ad. However, CPM pays per impression or view of an ad. To get paid, you’ll need at least 1000 views of an ad.

#4. Affiliate Marketing 

By using this method, you make money from the website through advertising and promoting products sponsored on the site. Working with affiliate marketing is similar somehow to e-commerce but the products are promoted on your site on behalf of advertisers. You get paid by sales or traffic generated from it for the merchant.

How to Increase the Ad Revenue from Your App or Extension

Most applications in the App Store or Google Play Store are free, so monetizing an application can be tricky. In-app advertising is one of the ways to generate revenue from your app.

In-app advertising implies displaying advertisements inside your mobile app. When a person uses the app, ads are displayed at defined times or triggered by determining interaction.

The ads can be banner, video, display, or interstitial.

  • Banners: They are used on the mobile apps at the top or bottom of the screen. However, they are usually too small to be seen properly by the user.
  • Interstitial: These are triggered by the user utilization of the app, and often served at the end of a section or stage on the application. The goal is to avoid disturbing the flow of the app.
  • Native: these apps blend seamlessly into the app at the point the user barely distinguishes them from the content.
  • Video: video mobile ads are very popular right now. Just think about the ads that pop between Spotify songs. The key to being successful at it is to place the videos at times where does not interrupt the user.
  • Affiliate: these involve placing other application’ adverts on your app. You’ll get paid a commission every time a user clicks on it.

If you want to know more about other ways you can monetize your app, look at our App Monetization Guide 2021. 

Tips to Increase Your Ad Revenue Through Smart Advertising

The right advertising can help you establish your position as a publisher and bring you a steady source of revenue.

Too many publishers get excited with the idea of displaying ads and then get frustrated when the results are not what they expected. Here are some tips to optimize your advertising strategy.

User intent targeting

Ad networks usually offer several targeting options for your ads. Some networks will give you qualifiers you can use to filter who you want to show the ads to. For instance, location or search interests. Others offer re-targeting customers that visited your site previously or showed interest at the products.

Other networks offer more complete profiling and targeting. When choosing an ad network, it is important to choose one that offers you the most complete targeting options.

The more option you have, the better the ads will target the user and the more effective it will be. That’s why at CodeFuel we have focused on displaying ads based on user intent.

User intent targeting

Split test

A/B testing is essential to creating a good advertising strategy that gets results. Advertisers should test two versions of the same ad with a single, small, quantifiable difference. Advertisers then measure which of both versions perform better.

Publishers can also test which ads are performing better on their websites and refine their ad strategy.

Use native ads

Ad blockers can be an issue for many brands everywhere. Blockers supposedly intend to avoid ads interrupting and annoying users.

You can solve this problem by opting for native ads. Since they integrate with the content, they don’t disrupt the user experience. Instead, they enhance it.

Focusing on native ads will result in more clicks for your ads ad more conversions.

How to Get Paid For Ad Revenue 

There are several ad networks that can help you get paid for ad revenue. Some of the most popular are Google AdSense, Bing, and Amazon for Publishers. The revenue you can get from the ads varies according to the platform.

You should choose the ad network that offers you the most variety of ads and caters to your specific audience. There are three basic types of ad networks:

General: Handle all types of advertisers. Examples of this category include Google and Facebook. The advantage of these networks is their reach. However, they can be too general.

Promotional and monetization platforms: While they are not networks per se, these tools offer you access to multiple ad networks and marketing resources. These networks allow the advertiser to conduct campaigns in multiple ad networks, maximizing the exposure.  CodeFuel, for instance, is a complete ad network and monetization platform that helps publishers and app developers monetize their digital properties.

Specialized networks: These niche networks specialize in a specific industry or product, for example, SaaS companies. Because they are specific, their inventory tends to be more user-targeted and converting.

Want to learn more about what ad network is best for you? Check our Ultimate List of the Best Ad Networks for Publishers for 2021

How to Calculate Ad Revenue

Calculating ad revenue depends on what’s the pricing model you choose.

For instance, if you choose to charge by Cost per Mille (CPM):

  1. Find your total earnings.
  2. Divide it by the number of impressions to your website or app in the period you choose.
  3. Multiply the result by 1000. This will determine the CPM you are receiving. 

Received CPM = Total earnings x 1000 / Number of impressions

How a publisher can calculate revenue?

Even better for a publisher is to calculate eCPM (Effective Cost per Mille). This metric measures the revenue generated by ads on a website.

How do you calculate eCPM?

  1. Find the ad revenue per banner or advertising campaign.
  2. Divide it by a thousand ad impressions.

eCPM = ad revenue per banner/ 1000 ad impressions

This metric shows publishers how much they are from a display ad if the ad is profitable or not.

How Much Money Do Apps Make Per Ad?

The ad revenue for applications will depend on the industry and the type of ad. For instance, rewarded video ads pay in the U.S $0.02 per impression. Interstitial ads pay $0.16 for completion. Action games and gambling games tend to bring the most rewards per ad.

Create Your Digital Advertising Strategy in 4 Steps

Now that you know the basics of digital advertising it is time to create your digital advertising strategy.

Step #1: Define Your Target Audience 

The first step and the most critical for a successful online advertising strategy is to define your target audience. According to your audience is the type of ads you are going to publish on your website. Without an audience in mind, how do you know which kind of advertisers you need to attract?

Who are the users of your site? Look at the demographics, age, income, interests. On which social media platforms they use to hang out?. Once you have your ideal persona you’ll know how to refine your site or app to cater to them.

Step #2: Choose Your Monetization Platform

How do you monetize your website will depend on the size and reach of it and also on your audience. Monetization platforms serve the ads on your site so you don’t have to.

You can choose to work with large organizations or with more specialized solutions, according to the requirements of your audience and site.

Step #3:  Mix your Ads 

If you can, mix the type of ads you publish on your site. A healthy mix of banners, displays, video and text can engage users without being boring. Also, take a look at the esthetic of the ads you present on your site, how they blend with your content.

The more they blend and the less they look like ads, the better for the customer experience and clicks. Look for native ads, that integrate seamlessly with your content and have a better click-through rate.

Step #4: Monitor and Analyze Results

Test, refine, and repeat. Monitor the metrics, calculate the revenue, and compare different strategies and campaigns with A/B split testing. Then refine the strategy to improve the results.

Digital Advertising Trends 2021

Last year, in 2020, the ad revenue of Google surpassed $146 billion. This includes the revenue from Google Ads. In fact, advertising is the majority of the company’s revenue, though most of it through search advertising.

Advertising revenue

Source

While Google accounts for more than 90% of all desktop search traffic, there is also a market for other browsers, especially Bing.

With that in mind, digital advertising marketing is booming and expected to grow even more in the following years. Here we present the top 3 trends that could drive the growth of digital advertising.

Featured snippets become more important

Snippets, those short pieces of text that appear on position zero of the page results —that means, on the top, before other results—, will become even more important next year. Search engines will prioritize content that can be included in a snippet. That contains useful information in a tight format and answers a query.

Why it matters for advertising? Because digital marketing companies will probably use those snippets as a short form of advertisement.

Promoting customer engagement through interactive content and ads

Interactive ads, such as gamified ads are gaining traction in the last year. Polls, giveaways, and contests drive customer engagement with a brand.

Why it matters for advertising? The more interesting and engaging an ad is for the user, the better the chances it will convert.

Influencer marketing

We already dedicated a section above about influencer marketing. The appearance of non-celebrity influencers is probably the strongest trend that will continue this year.

More companies are pairing with influencers to drive attention to their brands, and engage an audience of followers. When done right, influencer marketing provides potential customers with the social proof they need to convert.

Why it matters for advertising? Influencers reach the target audience directly, building trust. The ripple effect of brand recognition improves other marketing and advertising efforts.

Live Streaming sponsoring

Live streaming was one of the trends that accelerated during the pandemic. According to a survey by GlobalWebIndex at the end of 2020, 32% of YouTube users watched a live-streamed video in the previous month. This popularity opens an array of sponsorship opportunities for companies. Combined with influencer marketing, sponsoring live streams can complete a brand exposure effort.

That’s a Wrap!

Generating ad revenue for your website or application sometimes seems challenging. The general pay per ad is low and the requirements of traffic and content quality for sites and apps can be daunting. However, pairing with a monetization platform can give a headstart for publishers and app developers looking to monetize through advertising.

CodeFuel helps publishers and developers monetize their digital properties by improving the user experience. The platform engages users to publishers so they can find relevant ads that solve their queries.  You can learn more about how CodeFuel can help by contacting us.

11 Best Ad Networks for Publishers in 2021

11 Best Ad Networks for Publishers in 2021

The ad tech industry doesn’t start and finishes with Google AdSense. In fact, there are many alternatives for publishers who want to generate revenue outside Google. You can combine several networks to generate the highest revenue. Here we explore and bring you our top 11 picks for 2021.

Short in Time? These Are Our Top 5 Ad Networks

Position Ad Network Overview
#1 CodeFuel A complete holistic solution for publishers, leveraging search, ads, and news monetization options while enhancing the UX
#2 Amazon for Publishers Unified ad marketplace for Amazon clients to leverage ads on and off Amazon
#3 Google Adsense and Google Marketing Network The most popular Ad network, allows publishers to monetize their websites by presenting ads on their digital properties.
#4 Taboola An ad network that matches campaigns to specific publishers. Presents content in a newsfeed format.
#5 Outbrain An end-to-end platform for serving ads to top publishers. Focuses on inventory management.

What Is an Ad Network and Why Do You Need One?

An ad network is an intermediary that introduces the right publisher option to the right buyer. It connects publishers (suppliers) and advertisers (buyers) to match their campaign goals.

You can work with several ad networks according to the different types of ad formats you work with. There are video ad networks that serve video content, and others that focus on the best CPM rate.

Ad networks are a good choice if you need to sell remnant ad inventory. For instance, impressions that are not sold by the end of the month. Let’s say you have a deal with an advertiser to give him 700k impressions a month, but you generate 900k impressions. You can sell the remnant impressions through an ad network.

How do you choose the best ad network for your company?

There is a good deal of different advertising networks offering video ads, in-feed ads, and display advertising to choose from. But before choosing the network, you should start first by evaluating your marketing needs.

Key factors to consider

  • Your target audience – Is your audience B2B or B2C? How large is your audience? Note your audience demographics, interests, location, and age group.
  • Your budget – for starting companies sometimes the budget can play an important part in choosing some networks.
  • Your niche – this is perhaps the most important factor in determining which network works best for you. Often, the more general the niche, the more general the network.

Types of Ad Networks

Specialized Ad Networks

These are also called “niche” networks. These ad networks typically target industry or niche. For instance, there are display advertising networks that target software advertisers, publishers, and developers. These networks usually handle specific and high-converting, inventories.

General Ad Networks

Unlike specialized networks, these handle a broad spectrum of advertisers. In this category, we can find Google and Facebook ad networks. These bring huge audiences of consumers to the table, along with extensive and detailed customer data.

Promotion Platforms

These tools give you access to multiple ad networks, exchanges, and marketing resources. Promotion platforms help you manage multiple campaigns via multiple ad networks, access marketing resources, calculate marketing costs and optimize your marketing.

The Best Ad Network for Publishers for 2021

1. CodeFuel

CodeFuel

Features

  • App monetization – use an intent-based search to monetize your app or extension. Intent-based monetization with in-app ads.
  • Search mediation – optimized landing pages for your media campaigns regardless of where you buy media (Facebook, Google, Taboola, or Outbrain) You can deploy monetization pages on your own website.
  • Website monetization present relevant shopping ads to encourage high intent users and increase conversions. Leverage search text ads with a customized search results page (SERP) with sponsored text ads.
  • NewsFuel Feed – premium news feed.

Pros

  • Flexible – offers monetization options across various platforms and verticals
  • All-in-one – you can leverage search, ads, shopping, and news to monetize your digital property.
  • Tracking and analytics
  • Centralized dashboard
  • Multiple integrations – integrates with MSN, Bing, Yahoo, AOL, and 1200 quality publishers. Also provides access to premium Google AdSense programs.

Cons

  • Not suitable for very small publishers. Requires a mid-size audience to find the high intent users.

2. Amazon

Amazon

Features

  • Unified Ad Marketplace – header bidding from Amazon and third-party partners via SSP.
  • Server-to-Server bidding integrations
  • REsponsive
  • Automated line item configurations
  • Single header tag integration
  • Centralized dashboard

Pros

  • Faster page loads
  • Unified demand
  • Easy integration

Cons

  • Managed service: you don’t have a lot of control
  • Restricted to Amazon clients

3. Bing for Partners 

Bing for Partners

Features

  • Syndication – you get paid to show Bing Ads on your website. Bing serves the ads tailored to your audience and content.
  • Search ads – customer search on Bing and partner and get served custom ads according to search keywords.
  • Cross-device search results  – responsive search results and ads for PC, mobile, and tablet.

Pros

  • Has three search engines – Bing, Yahoo, and AOL
  • Bing network is growing, reaching searchers that aren’t reached with Google AdWords.
  • You can import your Google Ads campaign

Cons

According to Trustradius:

  • Cannot target specific countries with the partner network
  • Network placement sometimes is low quality
  • Not available on Mac

4. Google Adsense and Google Doubleclick Ad Exchange

Google Adsense and Google Doubleclick Ad Exchange

Features

  • Automated Ads – analyzes your pages and places ads based on layout, content, and existing Google ads.
  • Ad size optimization – automatically adapts the size of the ad to your user screen. So more ads can fill the ad units.
  • Requirements – A Google Account and a website that receives more than 300,000 monthly page views.

Pros

  • Simple – you just need a Google Account and website
  • Easy to use – add the same line of code to each page you want to show ads.
  • Responsive automatically adapts to mobile.

Cons

  • Google restricts working with other ad networks. You can use CodeFuel to get access to the premium Google ad network: Google Marketing Network.

5. Taboola

Taboola

Features

  • Feed – presents content in a scrolling news feed type.
  • A/B testing
  • Online content discovery
  • Native advertising – advertiser-side. Matches and targets campaigns to specific publishers according to content.

Pros

  • It’s easy to set up campaigns
  • Provides many options for targeting
  • Supports several audiences

Cons

  • Not friendly interface
  • Not performance whitelisting

6. Outbrain

Outbrain

Features

  • End-to-end platform
  • Flexible Placements
  • Sells remnant inventory

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Simple setup
  • Large distribution network

Cons

  • Weak support
  • Terms and conditions change rapidly.
  • Most of the traffic comes from the top of the funnel.

7. Triple Lift

Triple Lift

Features

  • Ad server
  • Publisher integration
  • Native direct deals on their existing workflow

Pros

According to G2 reviews:

  • Run media directly or you can access their inventory for programmatic advertising
  • Creative capabilities.

Cons

  • Basic dashboard
  • Needs more metrics
  • UI not easy to use

8. Xandr Monetize

Xandr Monetize

Features

  • Replaces the AppNexus SSP and Publisher.
  • Supply-side platform
  • Inventory management
  • Ad server
  • Many options to segment and search different metrics
  • Reporting
  • Geo-targeting

Pros

  • Flexible
  • User Friendly UI

Cons

  • Weak support
  • Issues with tracking metrics
  • Slow platform
  • Complex and not suitable for beginners

9. Adcash

Adcash

Features

  • Multiple ad formats
  • High fill rates – monetize all impressions
  • Anti AdBlock technology

Pros

  • Option to control offers manually
  • Variety of ad types
  • Good customer support
  • Multiple language site support

Cons

  • Difficult to find the pay rate on a website
  • High minimum payment

10. IndexExchange

IndexExchange

Features

  • Predictive optimization – price settings to achieve specific yield goals.
  • Data services – custom optimization models and simulations
  • Analytics – real-time feed that lets you know who is buying your inventory.

Pros

  • Selective about what advertisers they allow into their system.
  • Integration with multiple platforms

Cons

  • Not for small companies.

11. Verizon

Verizon

Features

  • SSP
  • Multiple ad formats, including native ads, video ads, and mobile ads
  • Video Syndication
  • Open bidding

Pros

  • Easy setup and management
  • Inventory management
  • Consistent demand
  • Monetize display inventory

Cons

According to Trust Radius reviews:

  • Pixels and Rules – the rules are less intuitive to follow
  • Poor UI
  • Slow system
  • Low viewability
  • Cannot hold against premium partners

How to Combine Ad-Networks to Get The Most From The Publishers Companies?

As a publisher, you can integrate more than one ad network. However, keep in mind not all networks are allowed to combine with Google AdSense. Google has a list of ad networks you can run along with their own. Once you know you can run multiple networks, how do you do it? There are two methods you can use to choose the right network for your waterfall or header bidding. 

Waterfall

This process involves ranking ad networks based on their performance. If the first ad network cannot take all the impressions, then the inventory passes to the second network, which will try to complete the unfilled impressions. If it cannot, then the rest of the inventory passes to the next one.

Header bidding

 

This system sells your ad impressions based on real-time market value, encouraging advertisers to win the impressions. This ensures you will get the highest possible revenue for space.

How to Optimize Your Advertising by Choosing the Right Website Category and Ad Network

To choose the right network, take all the information and follow these simple steps:

1. Weed out irrelevant networks and find the relevant ones

Classify according to the three factors we mentioned above: budget, niche, and audience.

If you have a specific niche, then look for networks that cater to that niche. For instance, if your niche thrives on video content, then search for ad networks that serve video ads. If you

Knowing your audience will help you find ad networks that serve this audience. For example, if your company caters to fitness fans, then you may require a broader ad network than if your company caters to kombucha followers. If you promote software to an audience of Linux users, then you can use more targeted solutions too.

2. Select the right size of the network. 

A larger network, not necessarily means it is better for you. Large ad networks will have a lot of options to choose from, but they don’t usually carry specially targeted ads. If you want to advertise a specialty product, a large network may not be well suited to your needs.

3. Quality vs Quantity

Sometimes you get what you pay for. For ad networks, you may get better pricing and more traffic from a large network, but the traffic you get will not be high intent traffic. To find high-quality, high-converting visitors, you need to get your traffic from the right sources.

4. So many options

Large advertising networks offer extensive options, including re-engagement ads and remarketing. While this can give you an advantage when it comes to targeting, you should ask whether you need all these extra features. Sometimes simplest is best when it comes to advertising. Focusing your advertising on the right websites and ad networks often gives better results.

Tips From CodeFuel for Publisher Success

Usually, when ads become more popular, their prices get lower. So, if you think about making enough income through ads, you probably come out with ways to increase viewability and add monetization options to existing ads.

However, monetizing your online assets with ads needs to be done right if you don’t want to risk weighing your site down with ads. Cramming too many monetization options without balance can risk driving your users away. As a publisher, you should try to maximize revenue while maintaining a great user experience. This is the key, happy and engaged users organically monetize your site.

Here are 5 tips for publisher success:

  • Be consistent
  • Have great content
  • Diversify your monetization options
  • Manage your SEO
  • Monitor, track, and review. Repeat.

FAQ

What is ad mediation?

Is the use of monetization technology, resources, and tools to maximize display ad fill rates and eCPM (effective cost per mille) for publishers.

What is an ad network for display advertising?

Is a network that connects companies that want to run advertisements with publishers (websites) that want to host them. The ad network collects ad space and pairs it with advertisers’ needs.

Is Google an ad network?

Google Ads is an online advertising platform that allows advertisers to bid to display ads in multiple formats to web users.

What is a publisher in online advertising?

The term publisher refers to a company or individual that displays ads in their digital space.

Which ad network pays more and has the best CPM?

According to headerbidding.com, the 3  ad networks that have the best CPM are:

  • Media.net
  • BuySellAds
  • Conversant Media.

The Bottom Line How CodeFuel can Help

There are many challenges for publishers, should you focus on mobile ads? Should you turn to programmatic advertising? Why don’t use it all in a way that is right for your website?

That’s the CodeFuel approach, balancing monetization across multiple options while focusing on engagement. CodeFuel provides intent-directed monetization solutions leveraging search, ads, and news. Our holistic all-in-one solutions tackle all publisher pains at once. Learn more about how CodeFuel can help today by contacting us.

How to Make Money with Google AdSense

How to Make Money with Google AdSense

Your website can generate money outside of your core business. After all, your digital real estate is worth money. If you wondered how you make money from publishing ads on your site, this article is for you. At CodeFuel, we constantly innovate and bring solutions to increase revenue for publishers.  In this post, we will give you an overview and tactics to make money with Google AdSense. Let’s begin.

How does Google Adsense Work?

Google AdSense is a Google product that enables publishers to earn money by displaying ads on their websites, blogs, or YouTube videos. You get paid by Google when a visitor clicks on the ad or based on ad impressions, according to the type of ad.

The advertisements can be text, images, video, or interactive media. These ads are selected by an automated ad auction system. The auction selects the highest bidder among bidding users of Google AdWords.

Google selects the ads for your site by using different types of targeting:

  • Contextual targeting – they analyze the keywords used, the word frequency, and link structure to determine the webpage context and match the ads to it.
  • Placement targeting – this allows advertisers to choose where they want their ad to appear. These ads are selected by advertisers who think your site can be a match for their target audience.
  • Personalized targeting – advertisers can select sites that cater to a specific category, for example (musical theater lovers).
  • Run of Network targeting – this selection includes all sites in the AdSense network, but the explicitly excluded sites.

How Google Adsense Work

(Google)

Why does Google use an auction to select the ads? 

Advertisers on the Google Display Network bid to show their ads on AdSense. The ad auction ranks advertisers according to the bid and their Quality Score. Therefore, you get the advertisers who are willing to pay the most and have good quality.

Learn more about how Google AdSense works in this video:

Are There Any Requirements for an AdSense Account? How do I apply? 

Google selects the sites that qualify for an AdSense account according to 12 eligibility criteria about you and your site:

You: 

  1. You must be over 18 years of age
  2. You must be the owner of your site and control it.
  3. You can’t use means that generate fake traffic

Your site:

  1. The content on your site must be unique and interesting
  2. The content must comply with Google Content Policies 
  3. If your site is inside a host partner, like Blogger or YouTube, you can apply for Google AdSense, but there are other eligibility criteria you need to meet.
  4.  The site must have clear navigation
  5. You cannot publish plagiarized content
  6. Your site should be at least six months old
  7. You need enough traffic.
  8. A site with a history of abusive experiences (fake messages, misleading practices) cannot apply.

Does it take long to get approved?

The time it takes for an account to be approved varies. Some sites get approved in 24 hours while others may take up to two weeks for approval.

  • The first thing you need to do is to verify your Google Account and your website ownership.
  • Please take in mind to fix any issues your site may have about the content, navigation, SEO, or traffic before you send your application. 

Types of Adsense ads

What types of ads are right for your site? Google AdSense provides a variety of ad types for you to choose from: 

  • Text ads

These are the ads in the form of simple text that often appear when you are searching for something in Google. They have a title, a short description, and a link going to the site. These ads can appear on your website or in Google searches.

For example, a search for women’s boots showed me two text ads from online retailers:  

Text ads

  • Display ads

These are the ads that you see typically displayed on web pages. Here are the basic three formats:

Horizontal

Display ads - Horizontal

Banner

adsense banner example

Vertical

Skyscraper

Skyscraper

Wide skyscraper

Wide skyscraper

Square

  • 250×250

Square -250

Small square (200 x 200) 

Small square (200 x 200)

  • Rich Media Ads

These interactive advertisements can be in image format, video or Html. There are three types of ads:

Dynamic image ads

These consist of animated text that appears when the user scrolls down the page. You can choose the size and type: vertical, horizontal, and square.

Video ads

This type of ads are presented by Google in several ad types:

Standard: non-skippable ads up to 20 seconds. This can appear in pre-roll, midroll, and post-roll slots.

Video ads

TrueView:  these ads let the user skip the video after 5 seconds. They can appear in the preroll and mid-roll positions, but require compliance to additional policies.

Creating Your First Ad Unit

What’s an Ad unit? One or more Google ads are the result of one piece of the AdSense ad code. Users can create, manage, and customize the ad units on their AdSense account. There are different types of ad units: 

  • Display ads – responsive and customizable.
  • In-feed – native ads that show inside a feed.
  • In – article – native ads that present between sections of an article.
  • Matched content  – ads that promote the content to visitors.
  • Link – presents relevant links that complement the content of the page.

So, how do you create your first ad unit? Let’s see

First, you need to sign in to your AdSense account and go to the Ads page. From your overview page, select the option by ad unit and Display ads. Give your unit a name so you can find it later.

You can select several options for your ad unit:

  • You can select the size
  • You can select if you want it to be responsive (we recommend you do!)

Once you save, you will get the code to copy and paste in the tags of your pages. If you are not sure how to do this, check Google’s code implementation guide. Click Done, and in a few minutes the ads will be on the page.

How Much Can You Earn by Using AdSense?

It depends on the competition and Cost per Click (CPC) of your niche. Google pays you per every click on your ads, but it takes a commission.

Generally speaking, publishers get 68%, or 51% when using AdSense for reach. Depending on the niche, the commission can go from $0.20 to $15, with an average of $3 per click for publishers.

Here are the most profitable niches in the US for 2021

Best Adsense Niche  Cost per Click (in US)
Insurance $16
Online Education $12.08
Marketing and Advertising $6.45
Attorney $6.11
Internet and telecommunication $4.96

Sources: SEMRUSH, Ahref. 

How do you get paid? 

Once you get your AdSense account and your ad units up and running, you should start getting payments from Google every month. Google pays you every month your earnings reach or are over $100. The company pays you directly, depositing to your bank account or via check (where available).

What happens if you don’t reach $100 in earnings one month? The earnings accumulate until you do.

How much money do you get with Adsense per 1000 views?

This will hugely depend on your niche. Let’s say you have a tech site and a visitor clicks, you can get $1.7 per click. If you have 1000 visitors, and your Click-through-rate is 1%, that means you have 1 click for every 100 visitors, and 10 clicks per 1000 visitors. Therefore: you will get $17 per 1000 visitors.

The average Cost per Mille that you receive from your content can be $4 to $6 per 1000 views in developing countries.

Pros and Cons of Monetizing with Google AdSense 

Now that you know the basics about AdSense, let’s explore its advantages and disadvantages.

Pros

  • It’s free. 
  • You don’t need to create your ads, Google does it for you.
  • You can monetize multiple sites from a single account.
  • It is technically passive income, so in theory, you don’t need to put on a lot of effort.

Cons

  • You need to earn at least $100 to get paid.
  • You cannot use another ad network if you are using AdSense.
  • You can get your account blocked for policy violations.
  • It requires a lot of traffic to make a reasonable amount of money.
  • Too many ads may annoy your visitors.

9 Tips for Making Money With Adsense (And What Not to Do!)

Having steady earnings with AdSense requires a strategy and following the rules. Whether you are new or already have an account and want to increase your AdSense Ad Revenue, here’s what you should and shouldn’t do when monetizing your site with AdSense: 

  • Follow Google policies: read and follow the Google Publisher policies, AdSense program policies, as well as webmaster policies.
  • Don’t click on your own ads
  • Don’t pay per click: giving incentives for clicks, buying Pay Per Click (PPC) space or any other way to give rewards for clicks is against Google policies.
  • Provide valuable content: giving your target audience content they want to read ultimately leads to them clicking on the ads and making money.
  • Build organic traffic: optimize for SEO, optimize the content to attract organic traffic.
  • Make sure your site is responsive: let your target find you where they are.
  • Optimize the layout and format of the ad: having ads above the fold test ad types and placement, have a leaderboard ad next to your logo.
  • Use in-content ads: native ads that blend with the content has a higher chance to be seen and clicked on.
  • Monitor, analyze, refine: check your results and tweak your strategy accordingly.

Alternatives to AdSense – Other Ad Network Programs

Although AdSense can be a great option to monetize your site, it is not the only way. In fact, there may be other monetization alternatives that are better for your site:

  • CodeFuelour complete platform increases your revenue by engaging searches, text ads, shopping ads, and news on your website, blog, or search page.
  • Affiliate Marketing – these kinds of programs work when someone clicks on a link on your page. They are usually free to add to your website.
  • Sponsors – to attract sponsors, you need to have a decent amount of traffic and influence with your audience. You can get your entire site or a single page sponsored.
  • Sell your product or service – you can always sell your product, merchandise services.

Mind-blowing Google Advertising Stats

Which ad sizes are the most popular in Google AdSense? 

Ad Sizes  % of publishers
160 x 600 11
468 x 60 11
336 x280 18
300 x 250 24
728x 90 36

It’s a Wrap!

Well, that was a handle!. As you can see from this guide, there are many ways to earn income from a website, both with AdSense and with alternative sources. Keep in mind that most income sources require two key factors: great content and enough traffic to make money. This is where CodeFuel is a good option to monetize your site. 

CodeFuel offers a complete solution to monetize your content, presenting relevant ads in searches, pages, and blogs. The ads increase user engagement and provide a great user experience to your audience. 

Learn more about how to monetize your site with CodeFuel.